Home Formula 3GB3 Alfredo Zabalza joins Hillspeed for BRDC F4

Alfredo Zabalza joins Hillspeed for BRDC F4

by Peter Allen
Alfredo Zabalza

Photo: BRDC F4

Mexican karter Alfredo Zabalza has completed Hillspeed’s line-up for the 2014 BRDC Formula 4 Championship.

Mexican Rotax Max Karting Champion for the past three years, Zabalza joins Brazilian Gustavo Lima and Malaysian Rahul Raj Mayer at the team, who took Seb Morris to second in the drivers’ standings last year.

?I am very proud to race with one of the best teams in Formula 4 and very excited about the coming year,? said 17-year-old Zabalza.

?I hope to learn a lot and improve as much as I can as this season is going to be very important for me. Racing against some of the best drivers from Europe and across the world is always a big challenge but I?m confident I can have a strong year.?

Hillspeed boss Richard Ollerenshaw said: ?We?re so pleased to secure Alfredo as Hillspeed?s third signing for F4 this year; he?s a very promising young driver and brings a lot of success from karting in Mexico.

“For the second year of F4, we really wanted to put together an exciting international line-up and we?ve managed to achieve that with Alfredo joining Gustavo and Rahul.

?It?s fantastic to have our full line-up confirmed well in advance of the opening event at Silverstone and we?re looking forward to seeing Alfredo in the car for the first time.

“It?s going to be a challenging season for him, there are a number of fast and experienced drivers in F4 again this year, but I?m sure Alfredo has what it takes to become a consistently strong competitor as the season progresses.?

Zabalza becomes the 20th driver to be announced for BRDC F4 this year, ahead of the season opener at Silverstone on 26-27 April.

2014 BRDC F4 line-up so far
Team Drivers
HHC Motorsport Sennan Fielding, Raoul Hyman, Will Palmer
Hillspeed Rahul Raj Mayer, Gustavo Lima, Alfredo Zabalza
Douglas Motorsport Charlie Eastwood, Diego Menchaca, Rodrigo Fonseca
Lanan Racing George Russell, Struan Moore, Arjun Maini
Team O?BR Jordan Albert
Mark Godwin Racing Chris Middlehurst, David Wagner
Chris Dittmann Racing Tom Jackson
SWR Diego Borrelli, Nicolas Beer
Petroball Racing Gaetano di Mauro, Dan Roeper