Home Featured Alex Quinn leads opening Formula Regional Europe practice at Imola

Alex Quinn leads opening Formula Regional Europe practice at Imola

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Regional by Alpine

Alex Quinn set the pace for Arden in the opening practice of the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine season alongside Formula 1 at Imola.

Quinn, moving over to FREC with Arden after winning the rookie title in the final Formula Renault Eurocup season in 2020, went top of the times with a lap of 1m38.740s moving into the final five minutes of the 50-minute session.

He led an Arden one-two ahead of team-mate William Alatalo before Prema driver Paul Aron slotted into second place, 0.042 seconds away from Quinn.

Aron and his team-mates Dino Beganovic and David Vidales had all taken turns in top spot during the session, and Vidales ultimately ended up fourth.

Mari Boya was the leading rookie in fifth in his first time official appearance for Van Amersfoort Racing after starting pre-season testing with FA Racing.

Frequent test pacesetter Gregoire Saucy was the lead ART Grand Prix driver in sixth, ahead of Kas Haverkort and Beganovic. Hadrien David and Patrik Pasma rounded out the top 10, just ahead of Italian Formula 4 champion Gabriele Mini and European racing debutant Eduardo Barrichello.

Gabriel Bortoleto recorded just six laps, over 10 seconds off the pace, following his late deal to join FA Racing. Thomas ten Brinke didn’t make it out on track for ART and nor did MP’s Franco Colapinto, who is also racing at Barcelona this weekend in the first round of the European Le Mans Series.

Free practice 1 results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alex Quinn Arden 1m38.740s 20
2 Paul Aron Prema 1m38.782s +0.042s 22
3 William Alatalo Arden 1m38.945s +0.205s 19
4 David Vidales Prema 1m39.049s +0.309s 22
5 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.086s +0.346s 21
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m39.116s +0.376s 19
7 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m39.128s +0.388s 21
8 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m39.222s +0.482s 22
9 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m39.285s +0.545s 20
10 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m39.294s +0.554s 20
11 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m39.302s +0.562s 19
12 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m39.359s +0.619s 20
13 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m39.401s +0.661s 22
14 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m39.457s +0.717s 20
15 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m39.481s +0.741s 22
16 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m39.549s +0.809s 19
17 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m39.570s +0.830s 22
18 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.655s +0.915s 21
19 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m39.868s +0.946s 20
20 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m39.713s +0.973s 20
21 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.759s +1.019 22
22 Brad Benavides DR Formula 1m39.852s +1.112 21
23 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m40.033s +1.293 20
24 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m40.382s +1.642 21
25 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m40.463s +1.723 22
26 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m40.587s +1.847 22
27 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing 1m40.633s +1.893 20
28 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m41.096s +2.356s 22
29 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 1m41.875s +3.135s 19
30 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing 1m49.458s +10.718s 6
Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix No time
Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport No time