Home MRF Challenge BRDC British F3’s Joshua Mason leads MRF Challenge entry list

BRDC British F3’s Joshua Mason leads MRF Challenge entry list

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

BRDC British Formula 3 race-winner Joshua Mason is one of seven drivers down to race in the 2019-20 MRF Challenge season opener at Dubai Autodrome this weekend.

Joey Foster protege Mason has raced in British F3 for the last two seasons with Lanan Racing, taking a win in each, and will return for a third time with the team next year.

The list of other drivers confirmed for the duration of the three-round season, which races at Bahrain and Chennai after Dubai, includes a variety of experience.

F1600 Championship Series race-winner Yuven Sundaramoorthy, like Mason, has already committed to a 2020 racing programme after his MRF campaign. He will return to USF2000 for a second season with Pabst Racing, after finishing 12th in the standings this year.

Valdemar Eriksen races in MRF again after being too young to score points last season, and will be joined by fellow Danish Formula 4 race-winner Largim Ali. Former Danish F4 star Michelangelo Amendola, from Belgium, is a MRF regular and will return to the championship for a third successive year.

The remaining two entries are also seasoned racers, with Dylan Young coming back for a eighth time in an attempt to win a race, and Indian double amputee Chetan Korada continuing his trailblazing racing career using prosthetic feet.

W Series champion Jamie Chadwick will not be making a return after winning the 2018-19 crown, while her title rival Max Defourny has not raced at all since being beaten by the Aston Martin and Williams junior driver.