Home Formula 3Euroformula Ye on Euroformula pole again in strategic qualifying session at Monza

Ye on Euroformula pole again in strategic qualifying session at Monza

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Yifei Ye took his sixth pole of the Euroformula season in the opening qualifying session at Monza, in which teams were working together to get tows.

CryptoTower Racing Team had Ye and his team-mate Lukas Dunner aiding each other for much of the session, as did Motopark with Manuel Maldonado, Cameron Das and Niklas Krutten, and Van Amersfoort Racing with Andreas and Sebastian Estner.

Strong final sector times put Sebastian Estner on top twice, before Maldonado took over in first place. Ye and Dunner had bided their time and exited the pits for their final run later, and Ye’s final effort was the fastest of anyone by 0.144 seconds.

Krutten, Das and Maldonado filled the next three spots, then it was the closely matched Estner brothers with the younger Sebastian leading the way, and Dunner.

After taking pole, Ye suggested that their plan had been compromised by slower drivers on track and Dunner ended up being 0.999s off pole.

Alexandre Bardinon was frequently the fastest driver in the first sector of the lap and ended up in eighth place, with Carlin’s Ido Cohen and the sole Drivex School entry of Glenn van Berlo within a tenth of him and completing the top 10.

Ayrton Simmons could only manage 12th for Double R Racing, while Zane Maloney’s recent struggles continued as he qualified 1.781s off the pace in 13th and spent more time in the pits than anyone else.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 1m43.534s 12
2 Niklas Krutten Motopark 1m43.678s +0.144s 13
3 Cameron Das Motopark 1m43.944s +0.410s 13
4 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 1m44.115s +0.581s 8
5 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.272s +0.738s 12
6 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.322s +0.788s 9
7 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 1m44.533s +0.999s 12
8 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.560s +1.026s 13
9 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m44.589s +1.055s 12
10 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 1m44.629s +1.095s 13
12 Ayrton Simmons Double R Racing 1m44.962s +1.428s 13
11 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 1m44.983s +1.449s 11
13 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m45.315s +1.781s 11