Home Formula 3Euroformula Ye makes it three Euroformula poles out of three in Barcelona qualifying

Ye makes it three Euroformula poles out of three in Barcelona qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Yifei Ye extended his colossal Euroformula championship lead by another point with pole in the third qualifying session at Barcelona.

The CryptoTower Racing Team driver rose to the top of the times at the end of the first runs, where Motopark’s Manuel Maldonado was his closest opponent, then fended off the challenge of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Estner brothers on the second runs.

Andreas Estner was on provisional pole, and looked set to improve, until he went wide out of Turn 15 on his penultimate effort. In addition to ruining his lap, breaking track limits also meant it denied him an opportunity to go faster next time around too.

His younger brother Sebastian continued the challenge to Ye but ended up 0.231 seconds short of pole and on second place on the grid for race three.

Ye’s team-mate and title rival Lukas Dunner didn’t complete his final lap, instead choosing to go to the pits, and was 0.013s slower than Estner in third.

Double R Racing’s Louis Foster continued his strong start in the series, having won in his debut weekend at Spa-Francorchamps, by qualifying fourth. His debuting team-mate Matthias Luethen showed improved pace and was 2.180s off the pole time.

Maldonado and team-mate Cameron Das qualified fifth and sixth, with Andreas Estner falling to seventh after his mistake. Rookie title leader Niklas Krutten was eighth fastest in the third of the Motopark-run cars, with Carlin duo Ido Cohen and Zane Maloney completing the top 10 after Maloney set the pace early in the session.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 1m35.212s 12
2 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.443s +0.231s 13
3 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 1m35.456s +0.244s 11
4 Louis Foster Double R Racing 1m35.498s +0.286s 14
5 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 1m35.631s +0.419s 12
6 Cameron Das Motopark 1m35.725s +0.513s 11
7 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.797s +0.585s 11
8 Niklas Krutten Motopark 1m35.827s +0.615s 12
9 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m35.936s +0.724s 15
10 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m36.063s +0.851s 15
11 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 1m36.138s +0.926s 12
12 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 1m36.195s +0.983s 12
13 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.506s +1.294s 15
14 Rafael Villagomez Drivex School 1m36.723s +1.511s 14
15 Matthias Luethen Double R Racing 1m37.392s +2.180s 14