Home Formula 3Euroformula Ye leads the way in Euroformula FP2 at Spa-Francorchamps

Ye leads the way in Euroformula FP2 at Spa-Francorchamps

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

CryptoTower Racing Team’s Yifei Ye was fastest by over half a second in the second Euroformula free practice session at Spa-Francorchamps.

Low clouds and early morning fog meant the track was very cold, and the long Kemmel Straight was scrubbing most of the heat out of the brakes and tyres. Eventually the clouds started to lift, and in the final 10 minutes of the session there was a flurry of improvements.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Andreas and Sebastian Estner had shared top spot for much of the session, but points leader Ye rose to the top in the final five minutes and although he had that lap deleted for a track limits violation he improved on it anyway with his final effort to end the morning in first place.

His CryptoTower team-mate Lukas Dunner also had his second-best effort deleted but rose up to third place, with closely matched Motopark duo Niklas Krutten and Manuel Maldonado completing the top five.

Andreas Estner was shuffled down to sixth, and Motopark’s Cameron Das down to seventh after appearning near the top early on.

Drivex School’s Glenn van Berlo had been in the top two at the start of the session, but he didn’t improve as much as his rivals and ended up 2.232s back in 10th place. Even worse for the Dutchman, his car came to a stop at Blanchimont at the end of the session and he had to be towed back to the pits.

Of the two debuting Double R Racing drivers, only Benjamin Pedersen made it on track and outpaced van Berlo in ninth, while Louis Foster’s car was still being repaired after he crashed in FP1 and he did not get to set a lap.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 2m10.298s 12
2 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 2m10.800s +0.502s 11
3 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 2m11.072s +0.774s 12
4 Niklas Krutten Motopark 2m11.285s +0.987s 13
5 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 2m11.367s +1.069s 12
6 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 2m11.495s +1.197s 12
7 Cameron Das Motopark 2m11.578s +1.280s 12
8 Zane Maloney Carlin 2m12.467s +2.169s 12
9 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing 2m12.516s +2.218s 13
10 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 2m12.530s +2.232s 14
11 Ido Cohen Carlin 2m13.002s +2.704s 12
12 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 2m13.241s +2.943s 13
13 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 2m13.905s +3.607s 12
14 Matthias Luethen Drivex School 2m17.450s +7.152s 14
15 Louis Foster Double R Racing no time