Home Formula 3Euroformula Ye leads CryptoTower one-two in Euroformula FP2 at Paul Ricard

Ye leads CryptoTower one-two in Euroformula FP2 at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Yifei Ye edged CryptoTower Racing Team team-mate Lukas Dunner to spot in free practice two for Euroformula at Paul Ricard.

The first of the Friday sessions took place in blazing heat, and most of the grid had new sets of tyres to use after using older rubber for Thursday’s pre-event test and first free practice session.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Sebastian Estner was the first on track to set a flying lap, and it was his brother and team-mate Andreas who then quickened the pace.

Ye responded, but then Sebastian Estner broke into the 1m55s and that prompted another set of flying laps from Ye and returning Motopark driver Cameron Das.

The younger Estner reclaimed top spot before most drivers headed to the pits to end their first runs, and older brother Andreas was the first to improve on the second runs. A session-best first sector time was then the foundation of the lap that put Ye top, with series returnee Dunner setting a lap just 0.037s shy of his after the chequered flag.

Andreas Estner was only 0.060s back in third, with Sebastian two tenths behind in fourth. Carlin’s Zane Maloney rounded out the top five.

Double R Racing received special permission to run German driver Matthias Luethen in FP2, despite the German driver not currently planning to race this weekend.


Free Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 1m55.220s 12
2 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 1m55.257s +0.037s 10
3 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m55.280s +0.060s 11
4 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m55.423s +0.203s 12
5 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m55.645s +0.425s 15
6 Ayrton Simmons Double R Racing 1m55.728s +0.508s 11
7 Cameron Das Motopark 1m55.742s +0.522s 9
8 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m55.927s +0.707s 12
9 Niklas Krutten Motopark 1m56.074s +0.854s 11
10 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 1m56.443s +1.223s 12
11 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 1m56.494s +1.274s 12
12 Shihab Al Habsi Drivex School 1m56.618s +1.398s 10
13 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m57.147s +1.927s 11
14 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 1m57.984s +2.784s 11
15 Matthias Luethen Double R Racing 1m58.412s +3.192s 13