Home News Manuel Sulaiman takes pole for Indy Pro 2000’s Freedom 90

Manuel Sulaiman takes pole for Indy Pro 2000’s Freedom 90

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Reigning NACAM Formula 4 champion Manuel Sulaiman took pole position for the Freedom 90 at Lucas Oil Raceway, the biggest oval race in junior single-seaters.

The cancellation of the Indy Lights season means Indy Pro 2000’s visit to Lucas Oil is the Indianapolis 500’s biggest support race in 2020, and is one of two oval races on the IP2000 calendar.

DEForce Racing’s Sulaiman set a two-lap average at 118.056mph in qualifying, after concentrating on race runs earlier in the day’s running.

The drivers went out in reverse championship order, with series debutant Kody Swanson the first to run for Legacy Autosport. The five-time USAC Silver Crown champion knows Lucas Oil well, and despite running on a slower track by going first, his 117.920mph benchmark was only beaten by Sulaiman and by a small margin.

IP2000’s main title contenders filled the next positions, with Sting Ray Robb in third (117.641mph), followed by Danial Frost (117.552mph) and Devlin DeFrancesco (117.311mph), who is also making his single-seater oval debut.

BN Racing’s drivers are not competing this weekend, nor Pabst Racing’s Bob Kaminsky. Jacob Abel has returned to the series for the race though with his family-run Abel Motorsports team.

USF2000 dominator Christian Rasmussen took pole for the supporting Freedom 75 race, finely handling the pressure of being the very last to set a qualifying run and going fastest despite losing time on his second lap. Cape Motorsports’ Reece Gold will start alongside him on the front row.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Speed
1 Manuel Sulaiman DEForce Racing 118.056mph
2 Kody Swanson Legacy Autosport 117.920mph
3 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 117.641mph
4 Danial Frost Turn 3 Motorsport 117.552mph
5 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Racing 117.311mph
6 Hunter McElrea Pabst Racing 117.197mph
7 Artem Petrov Juncos Racing 116.501mph
8 Braden Eves Exclusive Autosport 116.422mph
9 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing 116.318mph
10 Parker Thompson DEForce Racing 116.263mph
11 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 114.890mph
12 Kory Enders DEForce Racing 113.806mph
13 Antoine Comeau Turn 3 Motorsport 113.012mph
14 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing no time
15 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing no time