Home Formula 3Euroformula Ye back on Euroformula pole at Spa, both Double Rs make top five

Ye back on Euroformula pole at Spa, both Double Rs make top five

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Yifei Ye claimed his eighth Euroformula pole of the season in a cold final qualifying session at Spa-Francorchamps, which set the grid for race three at the circuit.

The Chinese driver was at the top of the times for much of the Sunday morning session, although when track times started to improve on drivers’ second runs it was briefly debuting Double R Racing duo Louis Foster and Benjamin Pedersen who were fastest.

In the end the pole battle was again between Ye and his CryptoTower Racing Team team-mate Lukas Dunner, but the gap between the pair was larger than usual as Ye claimed pole by over half a second after Dunner failed to find a big improvement with his final effort.

The experienced Cameron Das was a further two tenths back in third place, while BRDC British Formula 3 graduates Foster and Pedersen impressed by qualifying fourth and fifth and roughly a second behind Ye.

Motopark’s Manuel Maldonado was sixth, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Andreas Estner fading to seventh after sitting in third after the first runs. The top 10 was completed by Niklas Krutten (Motopark), Glenn van Berlo (Drivex School) and Zane Maloney (Carlin).

Following a last lap crash between Krutten and Maloney at the end of race one on Saturday, Maloney will serve a five-place grid penalty for race two.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 2m08.447s 10
2 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 2m08.969s +0.522s 10
3 Cameron Das Motopark 2m09.227s +0.780s 8
4 Louis Foster Double R Racing 2m09.317s +0.870s 11
5 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing 2m09.463s +1.016s 11
6 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 2m09.525s +1.078s 10
7 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 2m09.533s +1.086s 10
8 Niklas Krutten Motopark 2m09.618s +1.171s 10
9 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 2m09.716s +1.269s 10
10 Zane Maloney Carlin 2m10.027s +1.580s 11
11 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 2m10.191s +1.744s 9
12 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 2m10.236s +1.789s 10
13 Ido Cohen Carlin 2m10.381s +1.934s 6
14 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 2m11.376s +2.929s 11