Home News Weiron Tan claims second Pro Mazda pole at Barber

Weiron Tan claims second Pro Mazda pole at Barber

by R.J. O'Connell
Weiron Tan

Photo: Andersen Promotions

For the second consecutive Pro Mazda Championship race, Malaysian star?Weiron Tan claimed pole position, setting the fastest lap in a truncated qualifying session at Barber – with the top eleven cars in the field separated less than one second.

Tan put his number 22 Andretti Autosport entry on the pole for Saturday morning’s first race with a lap time of 1:21.212 to beat out Frenchman?Timothe Buret?of Juncos Racing, who will start on the outside of the front row, fresh off his first podium finish of the year at NOLA Motorsports Park.

NOLA race winner?Santiago Urrutia will start third, alongside his 15-year-old Team Pelfrey teammate,?Patricio O’Ward – ensuring an all-rookie lockout of the first two rows of the grid.

St. Petersburg double race winner and championship leader?Neil Alberico qualified fifth for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, next to the second Juncos Racing entry of?Jose Gutierrez. Two more Juncos drivers locked out row four, with American rookie?Will Owen edging out?Garett Grist.

Reigning USF2000 champion?Florian Latorre celebrated his 18th birthday today by getting right to work and qualifying in ninth, ahead of the second Andretti Autosport car of Canadian?Dalton Kellett.

A red flag came out with six and a half minutes remaining in the session due to JDC Motorsports’?Kyle Connery?spinning off track at Turn 3. ?His car was beached, and with it, his fastest lap of the session was revoked. He will start 12th.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Weiron Tan Andretti Autosport 1:21.2123 13
2 Timothe Buret Juncos Racing 1:21.3343 0.1220 14
3 Santiago Urrutia Team Pelfrey 1:21.5245 0.3122 14
4 Patricio O’Ward Team Pelfrey 1:21.5436 0.3313 15
5 Neil Alberico Cape Motorsports/WTR 1:21.5534 0.3411 15
6 Jose Gutierrez Juncos Racing 1:21.7325 0.5202 12
7 Will Owen Juncos Racing 1:21.7338 0.5215 13
8 Garett Grist Juncos Racing 1:21.8276 0.6153 13
9 Florian Latorre Cape Motorsports/WTR 1:21.8825 0.6702 14
10 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 1:21.9658 0.7535 13
11 Daniel Burkett Cape Motorsports/WTR 1:22.1990 0.9867 12
12 Kyle Connery JDC Motorsports 1:22.3504 1.1381 12
13 Raoul Owens JDC Motorsports 1:22.3621 1.1498 12
14 Alessandro Latif World Speed Motorsports 1:23.0623 1.8500 14
15 Parker Nicklin JDC Motorsports 1:23.2345 2.0222 13
16 Bobby Eberle World Speed Motorsports 1:24.7680 3.5557 16
17 Jay Horak M1 Racing 1:25.0614 3.8491 15