Home News Barber yields back-to-back USF2000 poles for Jamin

Barber yields back-to-back USF2000 poles for Jamin

by R.J. O'Connell
Nico Jamin

Photo: Andersen Promotions

Nico Jamin of Cape Motorsport scored his second consecutive pole position of the 2015 USF2000 National Championship season at Barber Motorsports Park.

The first two rows of the field were separated by less than two-tenths of a second, as the Frenchman Jamin qualified ahead of the most recent USF2000 race winner,?Victor Franzoni, who was second in his Afterburner Autosport entry.

Championship leader?Jake Eidson?of Pabst Racing will start on?the inside of row two, next to the other Cape Motorsport/Wayne Taylor Racing entry of?Aaron Telitz.

A late incident involving?James Dayson of ArmsUp Motorsports effectively halted the session with less than five minutes remaining?- his car veered off course, and Dayson was unable to put it back into drive. He placed 14th and last of the runners in the afternoon qualifying session.

Despite a late spin in the session, JDC Motorsports’?Parker Thompson qualified in fifth, fastest among all the first year drivers. Fellow rookie?Luke Gabin will start sixth. Rounding out the top ten will be?Anthony Martin and?Yufeng Luo?starting seventh and eighth in row four, with the fifth row occupied by?Keyvan Andres Soori and?Garth Rickards.

Team Pelfrey’s Nikita Lastochkin did not participate in the session due to damage sustained in a crash during?Friday’s free practice session. Their status for Race 1 is still unknown.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nico Jamin Cape Motorsports 1:23.6257 17
2 Victor Franzoni Afterburner Motorsport 1:23.7615 0.1358 11
3 Jake Eidson Pabst Racing Services 1:23.7819 0.1562 16
4 Aaron Telitz Cape Motorsports 1:23.8059 0.1802 16
5 Parker Thompson JDC Motorsports 1:24.4952 0.8695 17
6 Luke Gabin Team Pelfrey 1:24.6183 0.9926 17
7 Anthony Martin John Cummiskey Racing 1:24.6188 0.9931 15
8 Yufeng Luo Pabst Racing Services 1:24.8258 1.2001 16
9 Keyvan Soori ArmsUp Motorsports 1:24.9359 1.3102 17
10 Garth Rickards Team Pelfrey 1:25.0872 1.4615 17
11 Ayla Agren Team Pelfrey 1:25.1679 1.5422 17
12 Max Hanratty ArmsUp Motorsports 1:25.7482 2.1225 17
13 Augie Lerch JAY Motorsports 1:25.9771 2.3514 16
14 James Dayson ArmsUp Motorsports 1:27.4426 3.8169 12