Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Wehrlein wins rain-soaked race two at Monza

Wehrlein wins rain-soaked race two at Monza

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: FIA F3 Europe

F3 Euro Series vice-champion Pascal Wehrlein took his first win of the season in race two of European F3 at Monza, beating Raffaele Marciello in a closely contested race that was cut short due to rain and a plethora of accidents.

The race started under safety car, but that didn’t stop the treacherous weather conditions from affecting the drivers, with Lucas Auer, who started it in third, spinning out on lap four and hitting the wall.

The actual competitive racing began on lap five, with Wehrlein almost immediately running way wide and letting Marciello into the lead. They would remain like that for the majority of the race, until Wehrlein passed Marciello back with a bold overtaking move.

“Conditions were anything but easy and for me, it was even the first time driving at Monza in the rain,” said Wehrlein. “On the first free lap, I made a mistake because I was pushing too much. But I was able to close up to Raffaele again and overtake him later on. Victory in my final weekend of Formula 3 racing is what I had hoped for.”

Marciello added: “Second place is a good result, I am happy with it as it gives many valuable points. When Pascal attacked me just before the end, I didn?t do much to defend my position. Pascal is only racing Formula 3 this weekend and will then graduate into the DTM, so he isn?t a rival in the battle for the title.”

The race was cut short almost immediately after that as Mans Grenhagen crashed into the back of Jordan King and tagged Will Buller out as he was leaving the track airborne. All the drivers escaped unharmed but were out of the race, bringing out a safety car which ran the race to the flag.

Red Bull junior Tom Blomqvist rounded out the podium ahead of Felix Rosenqvist and Harry Tincknell. Prema’s Alex Lynn took sixth ahead of Felix Serralles and Josh Hill, while Pipo Derani and Sven Muller completed the top ten.

Marciello will start the third race of the weekend from pole, ahead of Wehrlein.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Motorsport 14 laps in 37:18.470
2 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam +2.569
3 Tom Blomqvist EuroInternational +3.018
4 Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Motorsport +5.160
5 Harry Tincknell Carlin +6.964
6 Alex Lynn Prema Powerteam +7.888
7 Felix Serralles Fortec +8.804
8 Josh Hill Fortec +9.279
9 Pipo Derani Fortec +10.140
10 Sven Muller ma-con +10.584
11 Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort +11.095
12 Jann Mardenborough Carlin +12.842
13 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing +13.273
14 Eddie Cheever, Jr. Prema Powerteam +15.346
15 Andre Rudersdorf ma-con +15.752
16 Nicholas Latifi Carlin +16.496
17 Sean Gelael Double R Racing +17.106
18 Roy Nissany Mucke Motorsport +17.747
19 Lucas Wolf URD Rennsport +18.791
20 Gary Thompson Romeo Ferraris +20.600
21 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing +21.510
22 Dmitry Suranovich Fortec +22.014
23 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing +24.581
24 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport +1 lap
Not classified
25 Will Buller ThreeBond/T-Sport 11 laps
26 Jordan King Carlin 11 laps
27 Mans Grenhagen Van Amersfoort 11 laps
28 Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Motorsport 11 laps
29 Michela Cerruti Romeo Ferraris 8 laps
30 Lucas Auer Prema Powerteam 3 laps