Home Formula 4GB4 Walker dominates GB4 race one at Oulton Park

Walker dominates GB4 race one at Oulton Park

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Alex Walker extended his GB4 points lead with a lights-to-flag victory in race one at Oulton Park. 

The Elite Motorsport driver led away at the start, building a 2.8-second lead on the opening lap. Fellow front row starter Nikolas Taylor stalled, before rejoining at the back. 

Max Marzorati swept around the outside of Hillspeed team-mate Megan Gilkes at Cascades on the opening tour to move into second, and was then under pressure from Gilkes in the early laps.

Gilkes then lost third to Kevin Mills Racing’s Jarrod Waberski, who lunged up the inside into the Hislops chicane. 

Marzorati maintained second but finished 9.178s adrift of Walker, with Waberski and Gilkes on his tail. 

Fortec Motorsports’ Elias Edestam was fifth , while his team-mate Taylor recovered to sixth, edging Elite’s Jack Sherwood at the finish line. 

GB4 debutant George Line leapt from the back of the grid to fifth early on, but went off at Hislops and lost places, as did Fortec’s Jessica Edgar. 

On the final lap Logan Hannah crashed into the barriers while trying to pass her Graham Brunton Racing team-mate Line for eighth. 

Chloe Grant therefore ended up ninth for GBR ahead of Edgar. KMR’s Tom Mills also stalled at the start and finished a lap down.

Race results (12 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alex Walker Elite Motorsport 19m33.667s
2 Max Marzorati Hillspeed +9.178s
3 Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing +9.526s
4 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed +9.873s
5 Elias Adestam Fortec Motorsports +10.537s
6 Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports +14.149s
7 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport +14.265s
8 George Line Graham Brunton Racing +29.665s
9 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing +43.160s
10 Jessica Edgar Fortec Motorsports +43.352s
11 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +1 lap
12 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +1 lap
Fastest lap: Walker, 1m36.650s

Championship standings
1 Walker 112   2 Marzorati 91   3 Waberski 81   4 Taylor 79   5 Mills 77   6 Adestam 71   7 Gilkes 57   8 Sherwood 52   9 Edgar 41   10 Grant 35