Home Formula 3GB3 Voisin extends GB3 lead with first win of 2023 at Brands Hatch

Voisin extends GB3 lead with first win of 2023 at Brands Hatch

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Rodin Carlin’s Callum Voisin resisted an opening-lap challenge from title rival Joseph Loake to take his first win of the season in race two at Brands Hatch.

Having closed to within seven points of Voisin with victory in race one on Saturday, Loake made the better start from the outside of the front to draw alongside him into Paddock Hill Bend.

The pair remained side-by-side until Druids, where Voisin used the inside line to move ahead.

Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell maintained third, while James Hedley made a slow getaway but held off Alex Dunne for fourth into turn one.

Matthew Rees started from seventh after being handed a three-place grid penalty for a clash which put Dunne out of race one, and on lap two he took sixth at Graham Hill Bend from Costa Toparis, who ran wide onto the grass and lost several places.

The safety car was deployed later in the lap due to a collision at Druids between Noah Ping and Shawn Rashid at the rear of the field, with Ping suffering front wing damage while Rashid retired on the spot.

Green flags were waved two laps later, with Voisin immediately pulling a few car lengths clear. Hedley snatched third into Surtees from Cresswell, who soon dived back up the inside at Paddock Hill, with Hedley sliding off the road and rejoining in ninth.

The front two took advantage of the battle behind to break clear, with Voisin maintaining a one-second lead over Loake for the remainder of the 14-lap contest to extend his lead to 13 points.

Cresswell scored his fourth podium in a row, coming home three second behind Loake. Dunne conceded further ground to Voisin in the title race with fourth ahead of Rees.

Fortec Motorsports’ Jarrod Waberski climbed from 14th to sixth ahead of Douglas Motorsport’s Tymek Kucharczyk, with Hedley finishing eighth.

Zak Taylor was ninth for Chris Dittmann Racing ahead of David Morales. Toparis lost a couple of further spots late on after running wide exiting Surtees and becoming airborne on the grass, finishing 12th behind Max Esterson.

Race result (14 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Callum Voisin Carlin 21m08.660s
2 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +1.338s
3 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +4.189s
4 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +4.834s
5 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +5.755s
6 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +16.225s
7 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport +18.138s
8 James Hedley Arden VRD +18.367s
9 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +19.617s
10 David Morales JHR Developments +20.583s
11 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports +21.017s
12 Costa Toparis Carlin +21.369s
13 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD +21.761s
14 Souta Arao Hitech GP +22.735s
15 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport +23.177s
16 John Bennett Carlin +23.451s
17 Michael Shin Hitech GP +23.908s
18 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport +24.475s
19 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed +26.150s
20 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed +27.263s
21 Noah Ping Arden VRD +1 lap
Ret Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing
Ret Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports
Ret Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport
Fastest lap: Cresswell, 1m19.779s

Championship standings
1 Voisin 342   2 Loake 329   3 Dunne 298   4 Cresswell 270   5 Hedley 265   6 Rees 258   7 Kucharczyk 249   8 Waberski 167   9 Bennett 155   10 Christodoulou 149