Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Vivacqua completes Fortec’s three-car Alps lineup

Vivacqua completes Fortec’s three-car Alps lineup

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Chris Schotanus

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Fortec Motorsports have announced a lineup of three full-time entries for the 2014 Formula Renault 2.0 Alps season, with karting graduate Thiago Vivacqua joining the previously confirmed Charles Leclerc and Martin Kodric.

Vivacqua, 17, will join the Alps grid after a successful career in karting, which saw him take two regional titles in his native Brazil in 2008 and the runner-up spot in the WSK Final Cup KF2 class in 2012.

The Brazilian, who is supported by All Road Academy (an offshoot of All Road Management, which oversees the careers of several current F1 drivers and single-seater juniors including Vivacqua’s new teammate Leclerc), made his debut in two rounds of Formula Renault 2.0 NEC in 2013 with a best finish of 15th out of the five races.

The 2014 season will mark Fortec’s debut in Formula Renault Alps. The British team can boast numerous recent successes in other 2.0 categories, including two consecutive Formula Renault 2.0 NEC titles and race victories in the Eurocup and the Protyre Formula Renault series.

“We are extremely pleased to be able to enter Formula Renault ALPS this year,” stated Fortec manager Martin Young. “At Fortec we aim to support our drivers throughout their career and provide complete single-seater transition, from Go-karting to Formula One. Formula Renault ALPS is the perfect starting point for drivers and provides excellent experience on European circuits. I am confident in the combination of experience and potential in the team and am looking forward to taking Charles, Martin and Thiago forward in their careers.”

Fortec’s participation in Alps isn’t likely to be capped off at three entries, as Matt Parry and Jorge Cevallos have previously announced plans to do part-time campaigns in the series with the British team.

2014 Formula Renault 2.0 Alps lineup so far
Team Drivers
Prema Powerteam George Russell, Alex Bosak
Tech 1 Racing Luke Chudleigh, Patric Armand, Hugo de Sadeleer, Akash Nandy
Arta Engineering Simon Gachet, Parth Ghorpade, James Allen
Koiranen GP Nyck de Vries
Jenzer Motorsport
JD Motorsport Matevos Isaakyan
BVM Racing Dario Capitanio
JCS Motorsport Academy
AS Motorsport by GSK Danyil Pronenko
GSK Grand Prix Matteo Cairoli
TS Corse Pietro Peccenini, Matteo Gonfiantini
Fortec Motorsport Charles Leclerc, Martin Kodric, Thiago Vivacqua
MGR Motorsport
Cram Motorsport Alessio Rovera, Stefan Riener