Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Victor Martins dominates Formula Renault Eurocup race two at Barcelona

Victor Martins dominates Formula Renault Eurocup race two at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: Dutch Photo Agency

Victor Martins dominated the second Formula Renault Eurocup race at Barcelona, further closing in on Oscar Piastri’s points lead.

Renault Formula 1 junior Martins started from pole and went unchallenged for the duration of the race, taking his fourth win of the season.

Alexander Smolyar started alongside him on the front row but made a poor start, further compounded by Petr Ptacek baulking him at Turn 2 after overtaking him for second place.

This promoted points leader Piastri to third, but he wasn’t able to challenge Ptacek until the second half of the race. Even then, overtaking proved difficult in the Tatuus Regional Formula 3 cars and the Australian had to settle for third.

Alex Quinn held fourth place for the first half of the race, initially challenging Piastri, but ended up conceding the position to Lorenzo Colombo. At the end of the race he lost another place to Smolyar, with Caio Collet taking the opportunity to then attack Quinn around the outside of Turn 1.

Both drivers committed too long through the corner, with Collet going too wide through Turn 2 and Quinn being sent into the gravel and down the order.

Collet managed to cross the finish line in seventh, behind Ugo de Wilde, with Federico Malvestiti, Leonardo Lorandi and Franco Colapinto completing the top 10.

Colapinto spent most of the race defending from Xavier Lloveras until the Spaniard fell down the order late on, while Kush Maini recovered from damaging his floor in qualifying to rise up to finish 12th.


Race results?
Pos Name Team Time
1 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 19 laps
2 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +7.093s
3 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP +7.592s
4 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +12.284s
5 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP +16.092s
6 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +19.029s
7 Caio Collet R-ace GP +20.133s
8 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +20.786s
9 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +22.078s
10 Franco Colapinto FA Racing by Drivex +24.333s
11 Alex Quinn Arden +25.097s
12 Kush Maini M2 Competition +27.227s
13 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +29.810s
14 Brad Benavides FA Racing by Drivex +30.949s
15 Patrik Pasma Arden +31.707s
16 Frank Bird Arden +33.653s
17 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +33.670s
18 Kilian Meyer M2 Competition +36.724s
Fastest lap: Martins, 1m43.994s

Championship Standings
Piastri 247? ?2 Martins 234.5? ?3 Smolyar 208? ?4 Colombo 173.5? ?5 Collet 158? ?6 Maini 74? ?7 de Wilde 68? ?8 Ptacek 65? ?9 Joao Vieira 59? ?10?Quinn 48