Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Victor Martins edges Caio Collet to pole for Eurocup Zandvoort opener

Victor Martins edges Caio Collet to pole for Eurocup Zandvoort opener

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Clement Luck / DPPI

Victor Martins edged his Formula Renault Eurocup title rival Caio Collet to take pole position for the opening race of the weekend at Zandvoort.

ART Grand Prix’s Martins notched up his fifth pole from the first nine races of the season in a session dominated by the two title protagonists.

JD Motorsport’s William Alatalo brought out the red flag just before the halfway mark in the session when he nestled his car into the barriers.

When the session resumed, it was championship leader Martins who topped the leaderboard with a benchmark of a 1m31.215s – enough for him to earn his 16th pole in the championship.

Renault junior Collet was second-fastest, just 0.127s shy of Martins’ best effort. Collet’s R-ace GP team-mate Petr Ptacek was third-fastest but over nine-tenths slower than Martins.

Spanish karting graduate David Vidales was the highest-placed rookie in fourth position ahead of another Renault junior, Hadrien David.

Amaury Cordeel was sixth-quickest ahead of MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto. Gregoire Saucy was able to pip his ART Grand Prix team-mate Paul Aron to eighth place by just 0.001s.

Alex Quinn rounded out the top 10 for Arden while Roman Stanek was 15th fastest for MP in his maiden Eurocup qualifying session.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m31.215s 12
2 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m31.342s +0.127s 11
3 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m32.140s +0.925s 11
4 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m32.164s +0.949s 13
5 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m32.182s +0.967s 13
6 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m32.206s +0.991s 12
7 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m32.213s +0.998s 12
8 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m23.245s +1.030s 12
9 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m32.246s +1.031s 12
10 Alex Quinn Arden 1m32.290s +1.075s 12
11 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m32.712s +1.497s 11
12 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m32.723s +1.508s 13
13 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m32.880s +1.665s 12
14 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m33.220s +2.005s 13
15 Roman Stanek MP Motorsport 1m33.382s +2.167s 13
16 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m33.463s +2.248s 12
17 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m33.937s +2.722s 13
18 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m38.269s +7.054s 3