Home News Victor Franzoni completes Indianapolis GP Pro Mazda double

Victor Franzoni completes Indianapolis GP Pro Mazda double

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, LLC Photography

After resisting attacks at the first corner, Victor Franzoni drove to an easy second Pro Mazda victory of the weekend on the Indianapolis?road course.

The Juncos Racing driver had lost the lead from pole in the first race before?fighting back to take his first career Pro Mazda victory, but this time made a far stronger start.

After fending off Team Pelfrey team-mates TJ Fischer and Carlos Cunha through Turn 1 the Brazilian pulled away at over half a second lap for the first half of the race.

In the second half he wasn?t quite as peerless as a result of traffic, but was still adding four tenths to his lead almost every lap in his ?unbelievable machine? to eventually cross the line a remarkable 13 seconds ahead of Fischer.

Cunha initially stuck to the rear of his team-mate but slowly slipped away, eventually finishing the race six seconds behind but comfortably ahead of fourth-placed Anthony Martin.

Martin had been the championship leader heading into the weekend but did not have the pace in his Cape Motorsports car to threaten for wins.

In the first race he benefited from Franzoni?s poor start to challenge for victory, but he had no such luck in the second encounter and now sits six points behind in the standings.

Race 2 results (29 laps)
1 Victor Franzoni Juncos 40m56.142s
2 TJ Fischer Pelfrey +13.0798s
3 Carlos Cunha Pelfrey +19.7399s
4 Anthony Martin Cape +22.3212s
5 Nikita Lastochkin Pelfrey +29.5187s
6 Phillippe Denes World Speed +32.2694s
7 Sting Ray Robb World Speed +43.8727s
8 Bobby Eberle World Speed +49.7331s
9 Matt Machiko ArmsUp +1m04.5916s
10 Kevin Davis Kevin Davis +1 lap
11 Brendan Puderbach FatBoy +1 lap
12 Steven Ford World Speed +2 laps
13 Jeff Green Juncos +2 laps
Ret Bob Kaminsky Kaminsky
FL: Franzoni, 1m24.014s

Championship Standings
1 Franzoni 116 ??2 Martin 110 ??3 Fischer 91 ??4 Cunha 71 ??5 Lastochkin 66 ??6 Dennes 61 ??7 Robb 61 ??8 Eberle 50 ??9 Machiko 45 10 Green 45