Home News Van’t Hoff gets Spanish F4 win as on-the-road winner Macia penalised

Van’t Hoff gets Spanish F4 win as on-the-road winner Macia penalised

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Spanish F4

Dilano van’t Hoff took victory in the second Spanish Formula 4 race of the weekend, after on-the-road winner Daniel Macia was penalised for exceeding track limits.

Another brilliant getaway from race one winner Sebastian Ogaard gave the Campos Racing driver the lead ahead of van’t Hoff before the first corner.

Formula de Campeones’ Daniel Macia also had a good start, moving from fifth up to third place. Pepe Marti meanwhile stalled on the grid, losing many positions before he could get going.

There was even more chaos on lap one, with MP Motorsport’s Manuel Espirito Santo making contact with Drivex School’s Max Arkhangelskiy.

Espirito Santo was forced to retire as a result of the incident while Arkhangelskiy continued to finish 17th on the road.

By the halfway point of the race, the leading pack had been reduced to four cars. Ogaard resisted the pressure from van’t Hoff, who was followed closely by Macia and Global Racing System’s Vladislav Ryabov in the battle for the podium.

Van’t Hoff increased his pressure on Ogaard with just two minutes to go to the end of the race, forcing the Dane to make a mistake. Ogaard locked up at turn 11, allowing van’t Hoff, Macia and Ryabov to pass him going down to the last corner.

Macia also passed Van’t Hoff in the main straight, but then van’t Hoff, Macia and Ryabov ran off the track at turn one, allowing Ogaard to recover the distance he had just lost.

This fight also allowed MP Motorsport’s Rik Koen to close up, and join the fight for the podium.

Koen, who had started from 10th on the grid, would ultimately take the last podium place after Ryabov, third on the road, was penalised for exceeding track limits.

The penalty put Ryabov down to sixth, with Ogaard being fourth and Quique Bordas fifth.

Macia, who took the chequered flag first, was also handed a two-second time penalty, which dropped him to second place behind championship leader van’t Hoff.

Race results (16 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 20m38.081s
2 Daniel Macia Formula de Campeones +1.426s
3 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +2.651s
4 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing +3.563s
5 Quique Bordas Formula de Campeones +4.146s
6 Vladislav Ryabov Global Racing Service +4.299s
7 Noam Abramczyck Drivex School +6.122s
8 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport +7.575s
9 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport +8.967s
10 Alex Garcia Campos Racing +10.986s
11 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +11.536s
12 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing +14.476s
13 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport +14.888s
14 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsport +15.284s
15 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +16.328s
16 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School +18.421s
17 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School +23.767s
18 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +24.888s
19 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +25.323s
20 Anshul Gandhi Global Racing Service +26.460s
21 Jorge Campos Teo Martin Motorsport +28.296s
22 Gil Molina MP Motorsport +55.575s
23 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +1m00.319s
Ret Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School
Ret Manuel Esperito Santo MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Koen, 1m34.082s

Championship standings
van’t Hoff 247   Ogaard 147   3 Macia 123   4 Marti 121   5 Bordas 99   6 Koen 67   7 Arkhangelskiy 64   8 Degnbol 60   9 Kelstrup 56   10 Ryabov 54