Home News Van’t Hoff profits from issues for Bordas to win in Spanish F4 at Navarra

Van’t Hoff profits from issues for Bordas to win in Spanish F4 at Navarra

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Quique Bordas was denied a triple success in the final Spanish Formula 4 race at Navarra, with a car issue putting him out of the lead and handing victory to Dilano van’t Hoff.

The race was initially a fairly simple one for Praga F4 driver Bordas, who won the first two races of the weekend and started from pole for race three. He made a strong getaway to go unchallenged through the first lap, and after building a lead of a second, he settled for a few laps before pushing again and setting new fastest laps several times.

That charge was interrupted on lap nine when yellow flags were waved as a result of MP Motorsport’s Georg Kelstrup going off into the gravel, with the localised yellows eventually turning into a full safety car period that closed up the lead group of Bordas and MP pair van’t Hoff and Noah Degnbol.

Degnbol had stalled on the formation lap and been overtaken by much of the field, but still started from third on the grid.

Campos Racing’s Sebastian Ogaard and MP’s Gil Molina were fourth and fifth, while Drivex School’s Guilherme Oliveira was initially sixth before being muscled down several places at turn 3 early on and then being spun at the same corner a lap later.

Bordas’s team-mate Daniel Macia passed Molina for fifth on the restart lap, and then moments later went past Bordas too as the leader had slowed to a near halt and dropped to last place.

Van’t Hoff inherited the lead, comfortably ahead of Degnbol, and was pulling away when at the bottom of the top 10 Drivex School’s Noam Abramczyk and GRS’s Vladislav Ryabov collided on the final lap. Their interconnected cars stopped in the middle of the track, and race control decided to red flag the race and bring the results back by two laps.

This meant van’t Hoff won, and Abramczyk earned a point, but left Bordas still down in 19th place.

Race results (13 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport
2 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport +1.277s
3 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing +1.665s
4 Daniel Macia Praga F4 +2.049s
5 Gil Molina MP Motorsport +2.875s
6 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +3.470s
7 Alex Dunne Pinnacle Motorsport +3.618s
8 Manuel Espirito Santo MP Motorsport +3.943s
9 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +4.184s
10 Noam Abramczyk Drivex School +5.327s
11 Vladislav Ryabov Global Racing Service +5.676s
12 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School +7.128s
13 Santiago Trisini MP Motorsport +7.998s
14 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport +8.393s
15 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +9.015s
16 Jorge Campos MP Motorsport +9.361s
17 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School +10.820s
18 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +11.052s
19 Quique Bordas Praga F4 +11.706s
20 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School +12.494s
21 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport +12.780s
Ret Alex Garcia Campos Racing
Ret Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsport
Ret Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport
Ret Alex Partyshev Campos Racing
Fastest lap: Bordas, 1m40.569s

Championship standings
1 van’t Hoff 119   2 Bordas 55   3 Degnbol 51   4 Macia 49   5 Ogaard 47   6 Kelstrup 46   7 Marti 34   8 Santiago Ramos 31   9 Dunne 29   10 Koen 21