Home News USF2000 Q2 cancelled by multi-car incident, d’Orlando gets finale pole

USF2000 Q2 cancelled by multi-car incident, d’Orlando gets finale pole

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

The final USF2000 qualifying session of 2021 was called off after two separate incidents in torrential conditions, handing Michael d’Orlando pole at Mid-Ohio.

Q2, scheduled for 20 minutes in a 30-minute window, got underway in a shower of anticipated rain.

Drivers were experimenting with the traditional racing line and the ‘karting’ line used in the wet, and laptimes were more than half a minute slower than those set in the dry on Saturday.

It was new champion Kiko Porto who went to the top early on, with a 1m55.3999s lap to go to the top, shortly before the red flag came out.

Four cars had gone off in two separate incidents. Cape Motorsports’ d’Orlando, DEForce’s Prescott Campbell and Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green all went off at turn four, with Campbell’s car sustaining damage, potentially through contact.

At around the same time, Turn 3’s Christian Weir went into the turn one barriers at speed, and those then required repairs.

With 12 minutes left on the clock, but with only the small window to complete the session, the results were called once it was determined that the barriers could not be repaired in time before Indy Lights qualifying which followed.

However, the officials decided later on to cancel the qualifying entirely after drivers had completed just two laps, meaning the results were set based on the second-best times of Saturday’s qualifying.

This hands d’Orlando pole, ahead of race one winner Yuven Sundaramoorthy and practice pacesetter Jace Denmark.

Porto, meanwhile, will start fifth behind Nolan Siegel.

Green, Josh Pierson, Spike Kohlbecker, Campbell and Myles Rowe round out the top 10 on the grid.

Qualifying results
Q2 results Q1 2nd-best
Pos Driver Team Time Pos Driver Driver
1 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m55.3999s 1 d’Orlando 1m20.3543s
2 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m55.6117s 2 Sundaramoorthy 1m20.3726s
3 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m56.2424s 3 Denmark 1m20.3822s
4 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing 1m56.9240s 4 Siegel 1m20.5217s
5 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing 1m57.0556s 5 Porto 1m20.5413s
6 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m57.1937s 6 Green 1m20.5481s
7 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m57.6294s 7 Pierson 1m20.6602s
8 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m59.1596s 8 Kohlbecker 1m20.7166s
9 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing 1m59.3675s 9 Campbell 1m20.7436s
10 Spike Kohlbecker Cape w/ Ignite Autosports 1m59.5273s 10 Rowe 1m20.7580s
11 Bijoy Garg JHDD 2m01.7556s 11 Nepveu 1m20.7826s
12 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport 2m02.0069s 12 Christie 1m20.9677s
13 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 2m02.2049s 13 Weir 1m21.0469s
14 Andre Castro Legacy Autosport 2m04.4016s 14 Navarro 1m21.3335s
15 Myles Rowe Force Indy 2m06.0020s 15 Stamer 1m21.4410s
16 Evan Stamer Cape w/ Ignite Autosports 2m06.8203s 16 Garg 1m21.4853s
17 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports 2m07.7291s 17 Lee 1m21.6686s
18 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 2m08.0259s 18 Frazer 1m21.6860s
19 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports 2m08.3900s 19 Castro 1m21.7769s
20 Michael Myers Michael Myers Racing 2m12.7824s 20 Vaccaro 1m21.8478s
21 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 2m13.2114s 21 Burke 1m22.3945s
22 Jackson Lee JHDD 2m14.7674s 22 Myers 1m22.4519s