Home News USF2000 points leader Sikes gets seventh pole of 2023 in Toronto

USF2000 points leader Sikes gets seventh pole of 2023 in Toronto

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

USF2000 points leader Simon Sikes claimed pole in the series’ second qualifying session on the streets of Toronto.

Velocity Racing Development’s Sam Corry was first to top the times, then Sikes shuffled him down to second after a few minutes.

Sikes’ Pabst Racing team-mate Max Garcia completed one lap before losing his front wing, and it was left at turn two through the rest of qualifying.

Race one poleman Evagoras Papasavvas lowered the pace into the 1m13s with his second lap, and improved again on the lap after. Sikes responded by going faster, but then Papasavvas reclaimed first place with a 1m13.0532s.

That was no issue for Sikes, who had an answer to that by setting a 1m12.8034s. DEForce Racing’s Mac Clark was able to demote Papasavvas to third, but was half a second off Sikes’ pace as he improved again by four tenths of a second.

The second half of qualifying featured less changes at the top, with the most notable action being Exclusive Autosport’s Joey Brienza stopping on two seperate occasions at turn one. Sikes had a lock-up at turn three too and went down the escape road, but was able to rejoin.

Papasavvas reduced his advantage down to 0.3566s, and with five minutes to go Jay Howard Driver Development’s Lochie Hughes went just 0.0021s slower to slot into third place while Clark improved in fourth.

In the final four minutes Papasavvas finally bettered Sikes’ pace, but on his next lap he went 0.0898s faster than him to reclaim first place.

Sikes secured pole with a minute to go by breaking into the 1m11s, and although Papasavvas improved twice after he came 0.1859s short of matching his rival’s pace.

Pabst’s Jacob Douglas qualified third and VRD’s Nikita Johnson went fourth fastest after the chequered flag, shuffled Nico Christodoulou down to fifth after he had jumped up to third place with a minute left on the clock. Clark qualified seventh for his home race.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Simon Sikes Pabst Racing 1m11.9669s 14
2 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD 1m12.1528s +0.1859s 16
3 Jacob Douglas Pabst Racing 1m12.3426s +0.3757s 14
4 Nikita Johnson VRD 1m12.3516s +0.3847s 14
5 Nico Christodoulou VRD 1m12.4456s +0.4787s 14
6 Al Morey JHDD 1m12.4745s +0.5076s 16
7 Mac Clark DEForce Racing 1m12.5219s +0.5550s 14
8 Chase Gardner Exclusive Autosport 1m12.5659s +0.5990s 14
9 Lochie Hughes JHDD 1m12.5691s +0.6022s 16
10 Sam Corry VRD 1m12.6398s +0.6729s 14
11 Jorge Garciarce DEForce Racing 1m12.7544s +0.7875s 14
12 Elliot Cox SFHR 1m12.9856s +1.0187s 15
13 Logan Adams JHDD 1m13.0929s +1.1260s 13
14 Avery Towns Exclusive Autosport 1m13.6104s +1.6435s 14
15 Maxwell Jamieson DEForce Racing 1m13.6326s +1.6657s 13
16 Gordon Scully VRD 1m14.3559s +2.3890s 14
17 Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport 1m14.9926s +3.0257s 11
18 Max Garcia Pabst Racing 1m26.1385s +14.1716s 1