Home Featured USF Pro 2000 champion Louis Foster to join FRegional Oceania grid

USF Pro 2000 champion Louis Foster to join FRegional Oceania grid

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Reigning USF Pro 2000 champion Louis Foster will join Giles Motorsport for the final three rounds of the Formula Regional Oceania season, and will make his debut at Manfeild this weekend.

The 19-year-old Englishman joins the series to keep himself race sharp before he steps up to Indy Nxt with Andretti Autosport.

He has experience in British Formula 4, where he won six races, and BRDC British Formula 3, where he won three times, then he was Euroformula runner-up in 2021 and won seven races en route to last year’s USFP2000 title.

Giles’ line-up could be expanding to five cars for the rest of the season, as British F4 graduate Adam Fitzgerald is also joining the team for the last three rounds and the team has run Chloe Chambers, Bree Morris and Ryan Shehan so far.

Another addition to the grid this weekend is Billy Frazer, who has raced in the series before and prepared for his comeback by joining pre-event testing on Thursday.

Frazer was fastest in the first half-hour session, setting a 1m04.913s lap that put him 0.073 seconds ahead of Josh Mason. Jacob Abel and Fitzgerald were also within a tenth of a second of the fastest lap.

Points leader Charlie Wurz was only fifth fastest, but bounced back in session two to set the pace by 0.010s.

Mason, Fitzgerald and James Penrose completed a closely matched top five, with Liam Sceats down in 14th the only driver not to better their fastest lap from session one.

Pre-event test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Charlie Wurz M2 Competition 1m04.696s 44
2 Josh Mason Kiwi Motorsport 1m04.706s +0.010s 44
3 Adam Fitzgerald Giles Motorsport 1m04.816s +0.120s 42
4 James Penrose Kiwi Motorsport 1m04.865s +0.169s 46
5 Billy Frazer Kiwi Motorsport 1m04.870s +0.174s 39
6 Jacob Abel Kiwi Motorsport 1m04.957s +0.261s 44
7 Ryan Shehan Giles Motorsport 1m05.043s +0.347s 43
8 Tom McLennan Kiwi Motorsport 1m05.056s +0.360s 48
9 Callum Hedge M2 Competition 1m05.091s +0.395s 41
10 Bree Morris Giles Motorsport 1m05.183s +0.487s 42
11 Chloe Chambers Giles Motorsport 1m05.405s +0.709s 45
12 Ryder Quinn M2 Competition 1m05.427s +0.731s 52
13 Lucas Fecury Kiwi Motorsport 1m05.529s +0.833s 42
14 Liam Sceats M2 Competition 1m05.640s +0.944s 44
15 David Morales M2 Competition 1m05.687s +0.991s 34