Home Formula 3Euroformula Tsunoda fastest again in second Euroformula practice session

Tsunoda fastest again in second Euroformula practice session

by Elliot Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Yuki Tsunoda put his FIA Formula 3 Championship testing experience to good use at the Hungaroring, topping both Euroformula Open free practice sessions.

The 19-year-old and his Motopark team-mates Marino Sato and Liam Lawson followed each other across the line after the chequered flag had to fell to fill the top three positions in the second session, toppling Nobuharu Matsushita.

Having repeated his FP1 strategy of running late and running few laps, Matsushita once again found himself up against after his best laps were removed for track limits violations. Late in the session he managed to recover and was fastest when the session officially ended.

Double R Racing’s Jack Doohan sprung up a strong lap late on to take fifth, mirroring team-mate Linus Lundqvist’s FP1 performance, ahead of Matsushita’s fellow Japanese racer and Carlin team-mate Teppei Natori.

The times were slower than the morning session, and the likes of new Motopark signing Cameron Das and Teo Martin Motorsport’s Lukas Dunner were both left languishing near the bottom of the order due to track limits penalties.

Rui Andrade was once again the surprise of the session for Drivex School, despite being one of the most prone to using too much road at the Turn 4 and 6 hotspots, ending in 10th place and 0.891 seconds off the pace.


Free Practice results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark 1m36.410s
2 Marino Sato Motopark +0.115s
3 Liam Lawson Motopark +0.214s
4 Nobuharu Matsushita Carlin +0.251s
5 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +0.468s
6 Teppei Natori Carlin +0.517s
7 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +0.808s
8 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +0.813s
9 Julian Hanses Motopark +0.860s
10 Rui Andrade Drivex School +0.891s
11 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +1.011s
12 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +1.086s
13 Christian Hahn Carlin +1.088s
14 Billy Monger Carlin +1.112s
15 Javier Gonzalez RP Motorsport +1.284s
16 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport +1.418s
17 Cameron Das Motopark +1.718s
18 Pierre-Louis Chovet RP Motorsport +1.870s