Home News Tsolov half a second clear again in Spanish F4 qualifying

Tsolov half a second clear again in Spanish F4 qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Fernando Alonso’s protege Nikola Tsolov was fastest by half a second again in a shortened second Spanish Formula 4 qualifying session at Jerez.

The Sunday morning session was ended early with just over three minutes still left on the clock when Teo Martin Motorsport’s Lola Lovinfosse encounter trouble in the second sector of the lap and her car had to be retrieved.

Qualifying had already been delayed due to a “technical problem”, according to the championship, and when action had got underway it was Campos Racing’s Hugh Barter who initially set the pace.

Laptimes weren’t representative at that point though, with the pace improving by six seconds before red flags were waved.

Tsolov claimed pole position for race three with his final lap, the Campos driver setting a 1m43.033s lap that was 0.513s faster than Georg Kelstrup in second place. The best sector times were all set by Tsolov, and it ended up being that only nine drivers were able to lap within a second of his pace given they were denied the chance to improve with qualifying’s early finish. The Bulgarian has already secured pole for race two, which takes place on Sunday morning.

Barter was third fastest, 0.598s off pole, and MP Motorsport-run duo Suleiman Zanfari and Valerio Rinicella were fourth and fifth.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Nikola Tsolov Campos 1m43.033s
2 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing 1m43.546s +0.513s
3 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m43.631s +0.598s
4 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsports 1m43.750s +0.717s
5 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1m43.819s +0.786s
6 Gael Julien Drivex School 1m43.835s +0.802s
7 Filip Jenic Campos Racing 1m43.843s +0.810s
8 Charlie Wurz Campos 1m43.950s +0.917s
9 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport 1m43.955s +0.922s
10 Christian Ho MP Motorsports 1m44.014s +0.981s
11 Tymoteusz Kucharczyk MP Motorsport 1m44.168s +1.135s
12 Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones 1m44.206s +1.173s
13 Manuel Espirito Santo Teo Martin Motorsport 1m44.209s +1.176s
14 Bruno del Pino Drivex School 1m44.222s +1.189s
15 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones 1m44.308s +1.275s
16 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School 1m44.310s +1.277s
17 Vladislav Ryabov GRS 1m44.321s +1.288s
18 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport 1m44.347s +1.314s
19 Robert De Haan Monlau Motorsport 1m44.347s +1.314s
20 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsports 1m44.365s +1.332s
21 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport 1m44.643s +1.610s
22 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsports 1m44.858s +1.825s
23 Ricardo Gracia GRS 1m44.911s +1.878s
24 Lola Lovinfosse Teo Martin Motorsport 1m36.497s +1.892s
25 Daniel Nogales Teo Martin Motorsport 1m36.580s +2.064s
26 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 1m36.685s +2.109s
27 Anshul Gandhi Cram Motorsport 1m36.737s +2.209s