Home News Tsolov claims pole for last Spanish F4 race of 2022

Tsolov claims pole for last Spanish F4 race of 2022

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Spanish F4

Nikola Tsolov claimed pole position for the last race of the 2022 Spanish Formula 4 season at Barcelona, his 15th pole of the year.

MP Motorsport’s Christian Ho and Monlau Motorsport’s Robert de Haan will line up second and third for race three of the weekend.

Tsolov’s Campos Racing team-mate Hugh Barter was first to top the session, but he was soon bettered as several drivers lowered their laptimes.

De Haan took the top spot with six minutes on the clock after setting a laptime of 1m48.382s, which was then bettered as drivers entered into the 1m47s.

Barter went then fastest again ahead of team-mate Noah Stromsted and MP’s Kirill Smal.

MP’s Timoteusz Kucharczyk briefly claimed the top spot with over three minutes to go after bettering Barter’s benchmark by 0.022 seconds. However, he was soon improved by Tsolov, who stayed on top of the times for the remainder of qualifying.

Tsolov’s 1m46.850s with one minute on the clock would be good enough for pole. Meanwhile, de Haan and Kucharczyk sat second and third respectively, 0.006s apart each other.

Last minute improvements meant that Ho took second place, 0.143 seconds off Tsolov’s pole time. Also de Smal and Stromsted lowered their benchmarks to move up to fourth and fifth respectively, displacing Kucharczyk to sixth place.

Campos’ George Kelstrup was seventh fastest ahead of early pacesetter Barter, who could only be eighth fastest with a best lap of 1m 47.581, over seven tenths of a second off pole.

MP’s Valerio Rinicella and Sebastian Gravlund completed the top 10.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing 1:46.850 8
2 Christian Ho MP Motorsport 1:46.993 +0.143s 8
3 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport 1:47.123 +0.273s 8
4 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport 1:47.146 +0.296s 8
5 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing 1:47.147 +0.297s 8
6 Timoteusz Kucharzyck MP Motorsport 1:47.229 +0.379s 8
7 George Kelstrup Campos Racing 1:47.373 +0.523s 8
8 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1:47.581 +0.731s 8
9 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1:47.649 +0.799s 8
10 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport 1:47.681 +0.831s 8
11 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 1:47.755 +0.905s 8
12 Gianmarco Pradel CRAM Pinnacle 1:47.837 +0.987s 8
13 Manuel Espirito Santo Campos Racing 1:47.858 +1.008s 8
14 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 1:47.912 +1.062s 8
15 Marcos Flack GRS 1:47.939 +1.089s 8
16 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones 1:47.975 +1.125s 8
17 Daniel Nogales Drivex School 1:48.006 +1.156s 8
18 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing 1:48.022 +1.172s 8
19 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport 1:48.030 +1.180s 8
20 Gael Julien Drivex School 1:48.253 +1.403s 8
21 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 1:48.378 +1.528s 7
22 Noah Lisle JHR Developments 1:48.390 +1.540s 8
23 Victoria Blokhina Drivex School 1:48.423 +1.573s 8
24 Max Arkhangelsky Drivex School 1:48.544 +1.694s 8
25 Daniel Guinchard JHR Developments 1:48.561 +1.711s 8
26 Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones 1:48.605 +1.755s 8
27 Vladislav Ryabov GRS 1:48.694 +1.844s 8
28 Jonas Ried Monlau Motorsport 1:48.749 +1.899s 8
29 Bruno del Pino Drivex School 1:48.830 +1.980s 8
30 Theodor Jensen Drivex School 1:48.904 +2.054s 8
31 Ricardo Gracia Drivex School 1:48.927 +2.077s 8
32 Francisco Soldavini Drivex School 1:49.245 +2.395s 8
33 Carl Bennett Drivex School 1:49.485s +2.635s 8