Home News Tsolov takes 11th win in Spanish F4 race one at Barcelona

Tsolov takes 11th win in Spanish F4 race one at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 Spain

Campos Racing’s Nikola Tsolov claimed his 11th Spanish Formula 4 win in a lights-to-flag display at Barcelona.

Tsolov resisted MP Motorsport’s Timoteusz Kucharzyck at the start, then spent the first five laps behind the safety car due to four cars crashing out at turn two on the opening lap.

Drivex School team-mates Bruno del Pino and Gael Julien had crashed into each other, then seconds later Formula de Campeones’ Max Mayer drove Monlau Motorsport’s Jef Machiels off the track. All four ended their races in the gravel, and it took several laps to recover all the cars.

The safety car period took up almost half of the race, and on the restart the top three of Tsolov, Kucharzyck and MP’s Kirill Smal immediately broke away. They ran within a second of each other until lap 10, when Smal dived down the inside of Kucharzyck for second place going into turn one.

Making that move gave Tsolov more of a gap up front, and he finished almost 1.5 seconds clear. Kucharzyck really dropped back after being passed but still comfortably finished third, then Christian Ho came out on top of a battle with Hugh Barter at the very end of the race to take fourth place.

Noah Stromsted ended up just behind in sixth, with Manuel Espirito Santo in seventh and Daniel Nogales rising up to eighth in the final laps. His first gain came after Georg Kelstrup dropped down the order, then he was able to pass Valerio Rinicella, Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak and Jesse Carrasquedo Jr (who later pitted).

Outside of the points Miron Pingasov dropped two places due to a two-second penalty for track limits violations, Daniel Mavlyutov started from the pits due to not setting a lap in qualifying, Victoria Blokhina pitted for a new nose late on and Jonas Ried emerged as the top debutant in 13th place.

Race result (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing
2 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport +1.492s
3 Timoteusz Kucharzyck MP Motorsport +3.980s
4 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +5.754s
5 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +5.891s
6 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing +6.011s
7 Manuel Espirito Santo Campos Racing +10.622s
8 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +13.931s
9 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +14.368s
10 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +15.089s
11 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport +16.181s
12 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport +16.314s
13 Jonas Ried Monlau Motorsport +18.127s
14 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing +18.660s
15 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +20.665s
16 Noah Lisle JHR Development +21.525s
17 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +21.968s
18 Gracia GRS +22.178s
19 Prabel Cram Motorsport +22.380s
20 Garcia Formula de Campeones +25.176s
21 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +27.344s
22 Marcos Flack GRS +28.204s
23 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +28.264s
24 Carl Bennett Sainteloc Racing +31.726s
25 Francisco Soldavini Cram Motorsport +32.751
26 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +33.474s
27 Daniel Mavlyutov GRS +35.868s
28 Viktoria Blokhina Drivex School +1m28.565s
29 Jesse Carasquedo Jr Campos Racing +1 lap
Ret Daniel Guinchard JHR Developments
Ret Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport
Ret Gael Julien Drivex School
Ret Max Mayer Formula de Campeones
Ret Bruno del Pino Drivex School
Fastest lap: Tsolov, 1m47.625s

Championship standings
1 Tsolov 356   2 Barter 260   3 Kucharczyk 209   4 Smal 147   Kelstrup 95   6 Rinicella 93   7 Zanfari 70   8 Jenic 64   9 Inthraphuvasak 61   10 Julien 60