Home Featured Tramnitz triumphs in second Italian F4 race at Paul Ricard

Tramnitz triumphs in second Italian F4 race at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz led from almost start to finish in the second Italian Formula 4 race of the season at Paul Ricard after poleman Ollie Bearman stalled.

Tramnitz was starting on the front row and raced straight into a lead he wouldn’t give up, while team-mate Luke Browning had hard work throughout the race defending second place.

First it was Prema’s Sebastian Montoya who pressured him, before his team-mate Kirill Smal came through and attacked several times either side of the numerous safety car periods that punctured the race.

Despite Bearman’s stall, two of Jenzer Motorsport’s drivers colliding at the Mistral chicane and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Bence Valint coming to a stop there was no call for the safety car on the opening lap, now on lap four when Eron Rexhepi spun and Cram Motorsport’s Georgios Markogiannis almost span into the Jenzer car being retrieved.

Prema’s Conrad Laursen and R-ace GP’s Victor Bernier then collided while fighting for sixth, and that was what eventually made race control summon the safety car. Bernier’s team-mate Sami Meguetounif then crashed with VAR’s Nikita Bedrin on the restart, just as Smal cleared Montoya, requiring the safety car to almost immediately return.

Grid 87Bearman 70Tramnitz 8Brown 6Montoy 7Smal 69Lomko 15Bedrin 20Laursen 72Fornar 55Bernie 10Duerk 84Simonaz 88AlQ 13Dufek 86Valint 56Megue 12Pare Ramos Weug Han Bizzotto Zuniga Sztuka braschi baptiste asrmanni zanfari wisnicki ried revers armand markogiannis garci perino r

There was more chaos in the closing laps, but no more safety cars, with Vittorio Catino being spun around, Suleiman Zanfari and Jorge Garciarce crashing out at the very last corner and Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen nabbing fifth from US Racing’s Vlad Lomko while Bearman went on an incredible recovery from 20th place to seventh.

Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 33m51.423s
2 Luke Browning US Racing +0.687s
3 Kirill Smal Prema +1.441s
4 Sebastian Montoya Prema +6.130s
5 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +6.562s
6 Vlad Lomko US Racing +6.991s
7 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing +8.155s
8 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +8.783s
9 Francesco Simonazzi Jenzer Motorsport +8.845s
10 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport +11.340s
11 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +15.268s
12 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +17.815s
13 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport +18.066s
14 Marcus Amand R-ace GP +19.355s
15 Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx +19.950s
16 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport +20.215s
17 Maya Weug Iron Lynx +20.486s
18 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport +21.320s
19 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport +21.519s
20 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport +22.496s
21 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing +24.860s
22 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +24.905s
23 Pedro Perino DR Formula +26.361s
24 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing +28.131s
25 Eron Rexhepi BVM Racing +28.220s
26 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport +31.186s
27 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema +37.671s
Ret Suleiman Zanfari Cram Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport
Ret Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP
Ret Victor Bernier R-ace GP
Ret Conrad Laursen Prema
Ret Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport
Fastest lap: Smal, 2m05.100s

Championship standings
1 Tramnitz 43   2 Smal 40   Bearman 21   4 Browning 19   5 Lomko 18   6 Bernier 12   7 Montoya 12   8 Duerksen 12   9 Fornaroli 10   10 Laursen 8