Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Tramnitz fastest in FREC free practice at wet Red Bull Ring

Tramnitz fastest in FREC free practice at wet Red Bull Ring

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Trident’s Tim Tramnitz was fastest by over half a second in Formula Regional European Championship free practice at the Red Bull Ring.

Tramnitz topped the drier morning session on a day of bad weather in Austria, and came through the low-lying clouds and spray to set a 1m29.470s lap.

Prema’s Paul Aron and FA Racing’s Francesco Braschi were his closest rivals in FP1, with points leader Dino Beganovic 0.633 seconds back in fourth place.

With 10 minutes to go of the session there was a red flag stoppaged, with KIC Motorsport’s Sebastian Ogaard left out on track, and no drivers improved their pace after that.

FP2 started off in even worse conditions, and Arden’s Joshua Duerksen initially set the pace. ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini was the driver to beat for most of the time though as the track improved, and his final lap was his and the session’s fastest.

A 1m38.962s effort put him 0.643s clear of team-mate Esteban Masson, with the pair having only been 27th and 31st in FP1.

Arden’s Noel Leon and Duerksen were third and fourth, with Prema’s Sebastian Montoya, MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif, R-ace GP’ Gabriel Bortoleto, MP’s Mari Boya and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joshua Dufek all within a second of Mini’s pace as personal bests were set just as the chequered flag fell.

Lorenzo Fluxa was the only driver to beat his FP1 pace, as he had not set a representative laptime in FP1.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m29.470s 39
2 Paul Aron Prema 1m29.991s +0.521s 40
3 Francesco Braschi FA Racing by MP 1m30.032s +0.562s 37
4 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m30.103s +0.633s 40
5 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m30.184s +0.714s 38
6 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m30.188s +0.718s 40
7 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 1m30.212s +0.742s 37
8 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m30.278s +0.808s 33
9 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m30.381s +0.911s 36
10 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m30.555s +1.085s 38
11 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m30.670s +1.200s 37
12 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m30.884s +1.414s 43
13 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m30.953s +1.483s 38
14 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m31.131s +1.661s 39
15 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m31.204s +1.734s 38
16 Mari Boya MP Motorsprt 1m31.215s +1.745s 32
17 Pierre-Louis Chovet R-P-M 1m31.370s +1.900s 39
18 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m31.393s +1.923s 39
19 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m31.441s +1.971s 41
20 Gillian Henrion G4 Racing 1m31.448s +1.978s 38
21 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m31.894s +2.424s 41
22 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m31.992s +2.522s 41
23 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m32.293s +2.823s 39
24 Noel Leon Arden 1m32.312s +2.842s 45
25 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m32.646s +3.176s 44
26 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing 1m32.986s +3.516s 34
27 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m33.126s +3.656s 44
28 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.289s +3.819s 39
29 Tereza Babickova G4 Racing 1m33.661s +4.191s 36
30 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m35.017s +5.547s 44
31 Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix 1m35.436s +5.966s 41
32 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.672s +6.202s 38
33 Sebastian Ogaard KIC Motorsport 1m36.134s +6.664s 38
34 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m38.952s +9.482s 39
35 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.646s +10.176s 38
36 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m40.661s +11.191s 23