Home Featured Ticktum claims second F2 win in Monza sprint race

Ticktum claims second F2 win in Monza sprint race

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Getty Images

DAMS’ Dan Ticktum secured his second Formula 2 win of the season, triumphing in Sunday’s sprint race at Monza.

Ticktum started on the front row and immediately got past polesitter Louis Deletraz.

From there, he was able to open a gap of more than a second to the Charouz Racing System driver and control the race from the front.

Ticktum had to manage a late virtual safety car restart, brought about by a collision between MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich and Trident’s Roy Nissany (which Nissany was penalised for), but the gap he had was sufficient.

Virtuosi Racing’s Callum Ilott retook the points lead by finishing second place, after getting past Deteraz midway through the 22-lap race.

ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard took his second podium of the weekend in third, and he pressured Ilott after the VSC restart but could not find a way past.

Prema’s feature race winner Mick Schumacher had to nurse a significant flatspot on his way to fourth place, but still finished ahead of Deletraz after passing him late-on and also Prema team-mate Robert Shwartzman.

Further back from the leading back was Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala and Campos’s Jack Aitken, who rounded out the points.

After a technical issue on Saturday, Hitech GP’s Nikita Mazepin recovered from the back to finish ninth, narrowly ahead of DAMS stand-in Juri Vips.

Technical issues bestowed two of the title contenders as Carlin’s Yuki Tsunoda and Virtuosi’s Guanyu Zhou both had problems that left them outside of the points.

Hitech’s Luca Ghiotto, who took a podium in Saturday’s feature race, had to pit for a new front wing after a collision with Aitken and finished out of the points.


Race results (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dan Ticktum DAMS 34m07.935s
2 Callum Ilott Virtuosi Racing +4.663s
3 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +5.299s
4 Mick Schumacher Prema +6.615s
5 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System +7.072s
6 Robert Shwartzman Prema +7.338s
7 Jehan Daruvala Carlin +10.989s
8 Jack Aitken Campos Racing +16.962s
9 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP +18.782s
10 Juri Vips DAMS +18.782s
11 Roy Nisany Trident +30.844s
12 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport +31.080s
13 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab +32.331s
14 Marino Sato Trident +33.113s
15 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing +41.766s
16 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP +1m00.054s
17 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab +1 lap
18 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System +1 lap
19 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix +1 lap
Ret Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport
Ret Yuki Tsunoda Carlin
Ret Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi Racing
Fastest lap: Tsunoda, 1m34.194s

Championship standings
1 Ilott 146   2 Schumacher 139   3 Shwartzman 138   4 Tsunoda 123   5 Lundgaard 114   6 Zhou 102   7 Mazepin 101   8 Ticktum 92   9 Deletraz 91   10 Ghiotto 71