Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Martins doubles up in Eurocup Nurburgring round in ART 1-2-3

Martins doubles up in Eurocup Nurburgring round in ART 1-2-3

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Alexandre Guillaumot / DPPI

Victor Martins led an ART Grand Prix podium lockout from pole position in the second Formula Renault Eurocup race at the Nurburgring.

The Frenchman got a strong start and was able to pull away from team-mate Paul Aron, who got a good launch from fourth place.

From there, he was able to open up a gap even larger than the one he built in Saturday’s race and won by 9.013 seconds after a flurry of fastest laps.

Aron had a small gap over Gregoire Saucy in the battle for second, and Saucy had to work hard to round out the podium.

R-ace GP’s Caio Collet didn’t get a strong start from the front row and slipped to fourth. He pressured ART’s Saucy throughout the race but was unable to work his way through as overtaking proved difficult.

Also in the battle for third was Bhaitech’s Lorenzo Colombo, but he couldn’t make progress up the field.

MP Motorsport duo Franco Colapinto and Hadrien David had somewhat lonely races to sixth and seventh respectively, ahead of JD Motorsport’s David Vidales who is in just his second weekend racing single-seaters.

Arden’s Alex Quinn and MP-run FA Racing by Manor driver Amaury Cordeel rounded out the top 10.

R-ace’s Petr Ptacek held the final points-scoring spot for much of the race but was passed by Cordeel on the final lap, and also nearly lost a spot to Arden’s Ugo de Wilde.

JD’s William Alatalo qualified in fifth but appeared to have a problem at the start. He pulled into the pits at the end of the first lap. He returned to the track towards the conclusion but finished 14 laps down.

Arden’s Reshad de Gerus retired early on after contact with Manor’s Tijmen van der Helm. That incident was investigated after the race.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 17 laps
2 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix +9.013s
3 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +10.247s
4 Caio Collet R-ace GP +11.303s
5 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech +11.980s
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +14.177s
7 Hadrien David MP Motorsport +20.543s
8 David Vidales JD Motorsport +23.123s
9 Alex Quinn Arden +23.483s
10 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor +26.452s
11 Petr Ptacek R-Ace GP +27.138s
12 Ugo de Wilde Arden +27.169s
13 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor +35.982s
14 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech +40.671s
15 Vicky Piria Bhaitech +51.687s
16 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +14 laps
Ret Reshad de Gerus Arden
Fastest lap: Martins, 1m55.109s

Championship standings
Martins 93  2 Collet 88  Vidales 69   4 Colapinto 68   5 Alatalo 55   6 Quinn 45   7 Colombo 34   8 Saucy 31   9 Belov 23   10 David 22