Home Formula 4Danish F4 The Pedersens star as Danish F4 joins up with FNordic in Sweden

The Pedersens star as Danish F4 joins up with FNordic in Sweden

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formel 4.dk

The second round of the Danish Formula 4 season this weekend was noteworthy for taking place in Sweden, and also featuring cars from another series.

The field headed to Anderstorp to race alongside the Formula Renault 1.6-spec cars of Formula Nordic, and for a reduced schedule of two races rather than three.

MP Racing’s Magnus Pedersen set a 1m36.429s to top a red-flagged qualifying by 0.085 seconds over STEP Motorsport’s Victor Nielsen, with Christer Otterstrom the fastest FNordic driver in fifth place and 0.946s off the pace. Usual Danish Formula 5 dominator Mads Hoe was two places further back and 1.511s off the pace on a track that was totally new to him.

The opening race started with drama as Nielsen was hit and both he and Mathias Bjerre Jakobsen headed towards the gravel. They managed to return to track and recover, but their victory hopes were dashed.

Pedersen meanwhile raced away up front, and by the end of the race was 4.463s clear of the unrelated Mikkel Pedersen.

Theodor Jensen failed to set a lap in qualifying due to an engine issue, and was only able to take part in race one by using a totally different car. However once on track he showed his pace and charged from the back to be on course for a podium.

But a gearbox failure then put him out with a lap to go, leaving F5 victor Hoe in an unchallenged third overall with FNordic winner Linus Granfors in fourth and just ahead of Jakobsen.

The next FNordic entry was Jonathan Engstrom, who was three places and 11.265s further back. FNordic cars filled out the top 10, with Mille Hoe second in the F5 class (having raced in F4 in round one) but 13th overall.

The fastest laps from race one set the race two grid, putting Mikkel Pedersen on pole ahead of a relieved Jensen, Magnus Pedersen, Jakobsen and Granfors.

The pole-sitter was able to break away early on as Magnus Pedersen and Jakobsen fought over second until the latter’s tyres started to lose performance.

That freed Pedersen to chase his namesake, and it became a close fight between the two at the end that was settled by just 0.262s in Mikkel’s favour.

Granfors beat Hoe to fifth, with each winning their class, while Jensen did not actually make the start and is now far back in the standings.

Results round-up [F5 entrants in italics, FR1.6 entrants in bold]
Race 1 (11 laps)
1 Magnus Pedersen MP Racing 17m54.490s
2 Mikkel Pedersen Team BAR +4.463s
Mads Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport +10.728s
Linus Granfors Granforce Racing +15.110s
5 Mathias Bjerre Jakobsen Team FormulaSport +15.823s
6 Victor Nielsen STEP Motorsport +24.793s
Jonathan Engstrom +26.375s
Christer Otterstrom +27.190s
Emma Wigroth WestCoast Racing +35.040s
10 Daniel Varverud +45.974s
Pole: Magnus Pedersen, 1m36.429s
Fastest lap: Mikkel Pedersen, 1m36.289s

Race 2 (13 laps)
1 Mikkel Pedersen 21m06.550s
2 Magnus Pedersen +0.262s
3 Nielsen +8.070s
4 Jakobsen +12.853s
Granfors +13.264s
Hoe +14.553s
Engstrom +20.804s
Varverud +24.344s
Wigroth +31.353s
10 Carita Livrud Otterstrom +32.238s
FL: Magnus Pedersen, 1m36.517s

Championship standings
1 Mikkel Pedersen 108   2 Magnus Pedersen 88   Nielsen 65   4 Jakobsen 54   5 Mads Hoe 50   6 Theodor Jensen 37   7 Mille Hoe 36   8 Frederik Stena 24   9 Morten Stromsted 11   10 Oliver Kratsch 11