Home Formula 4British F4 Taylor fastest as British F4 holds day of running at Knockhill

Taylor fastest as British F4 holds day of running at Knockhill

by Ida Wood

Photo: Arden

The British Formula 4 grid spent A Levels results day at Knockhill on Tuesday, preparing for the upcoming race weekend there.

There were four sessions on track for the F4 drivers, and JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees was the pacesetter in the first three.

Fog delayed the start of the day’s running, but didn’t reduce the track time and Rees went to the top in session one with a 49.772s lap. That put him a tiny 0.026 seconds ahead of Carlin’s Kai Askey, and 0.086s ahead of JHR team-mate McKenzy Cresswell. The field was tightly packed on the most part, although Arden’s David Morales was over 2.3s off the pace.

Rees improved by two tenths of a second in session two to a 49.529s, with team-mate Abbi Pulling the next fastest and 0.118s behind. Four other drivers were also within two tenths of Rees’ pace, while Fortec Motorsports’ points leader James Hedley and Richardson Racing’s sole driver Georgi Dimitrov failed to set any laps.

Both were back on track in session three, although Hedley only managed six laps, and Rees went faster again. Joel Granfors put Fortec in second place with a lap just 0.007s slower, while JHR’s Joseph Loake was third and 0.107s behind.

Rees’ day of gains stopped in the final session, going only fourth fastest and not improving on his earlier pace. The top two in the session did though, with Arden’s Zak Taylor taking the overall top spot from Rees by a miniscule 0.004s.

Argenti Motorsport’s Matias Zagazeta was 0.026s slower than Taylor, and that put him fourth overall ahead of Pulling who completed a top five covered by less than half of a tenth of a second.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Zak Taylor Arden 49.473s 116
2 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 49.477s +0.004s 102
3 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 49.484s +0.011s 108
4 Matias Zagazeta Argenti Motorsport 49.499s +0.026s 101
5 Abbi Pulling JHR Developments 49.517s +0.044s 94
6 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 49.584s +0.111s 88
7 Oliver Gray Fortec Motorsports 49.649s +0.176s 109
8 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Carlin 49.668s +0.195s 111
9 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport 49.676s +0.203s 95
10 Kai Askey Carlin 49.692s +0.219s 117
11 Dougie Bolger Carlin 49.792s +0.319s 118
12 McKenzy Cresswell JHR Developments 49.803s +0.330s 97
13 Eduardo Coseteng Argenti Motorsport 49.816s +0.343s 87
14 Marcos Flack Argenti Motorsport 50.025s +0.552s 108
15 James Hedley Fortec Motorsports 50.291s +0.818s 23
16 Georgi Dimitrov Richardson Racing 50.353s +0.880s 56
17 David Morales Arden 50.435s +0.962s 99