Home News Taranov sees off challengers to take maiden victory

Taranov sees off challengers to take maiden victory

by Gruz David

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

The first race of the final Protyre Formula Renault?round at Silverstone saw series veteran Ivan Taranov taking his first race victory in the category.

The 18-year-old Russian, who ended up missing several prior rounds, started from pole position and, despite hiccups along the way, converted it into a victory.

The opening lap of the race saw Taranov locked in a fight against Sam MacLeod for the race lead, with the latter coming out on top at first. After MacLeod took the lead on lap one, he held on to it for four laps, but eventually yielded the spot back to Taranov, who then brought the car home to win the race.

After MacLeod retired from contact on lap seven, Formula Ford graduate Jake Cook,?who was driving a superb race from sixth on the grid, took over in second. Behind him, Malaysian Weiron Tan rounded out the podium.

The rest of the grid, led by Hong Wei Cao finished far behind the race winner. Jorge Cevallos came home fifth, as Brazilian Pietro Fittipaldi secured sixth, closely followed by series rookie Piers Hickin. Shahan Sarkissian?was eighth, while another debutant Ashley Crossey overhauled Matteo Ferrer for ninth.

Series champion Chris Middlehurst‘s race ended early after an incident on lap four.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Ivan Taranov Scorpio Motorsport 17:20.439
2 Jake Cook Hillspeed +1.109
3 Weiron Tan Fortec Motorsports +2.764
4 Hong Wei Cao Fortec Motorsports +9.011
5 Jorge Cevallos MGR Motorsport +9.919
6 Pietro Fittipaldi Jamun Racing Services +11.495
7 Piers Hickin Scorpio Motorsport +12.047
8 Shahan Sarkissian Mtech Lite +16.820
9 Ashley Crossey Core Motorsport +20.131
10 Matteo Ferrer MGR Motorsport +20.752
11 Leo Yee Fortec Motorsports +21.808
12 Atte Lehtonen SWB Motorsport +29.646
13 Alex Gill Mtech Lite +29.858
14 Wei Fung Thong Fortec Motorsports +34.938
Sam MacLeod Fortec Motorsports +11 Laps
Chris Middlehurst MGR Motorsport +14 Laps
Matt Rao Hillspeed +17 Laps
Henrique Baptista Scorpio Motorsport +17 Laps