Home News Magnussen stripped of Paul Ricard race one win

Magnussen stripped of Paul Ricard race one win

by Peter Allen
Kevin Magnussen

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Formula Renault 3.5 points leader Kevin Magnussen has been stripped of his victory in race one at Paul Ricard after his DAMS car failed the post-race technical inspection.

Stewards found that Magnussen’s car did not conform to the technical regulations and have excluded him from the results. It took more than five hours after the chequered flag at the end of the race for the stewards to publish their decision. DAMS have the right to appeal the decision.

Antonio Felix da Costa inherits what is his second consecutive race win, with Stoffel Vandoorne taking second place.

Magnussen had extended his advantage over Vandoorne to 46 points but it has now been cut to 18, meaning the title fight will continue onto the final weekend in Barcelona regardless of the result in race two. The victory had been Magnussen’s first since Spa at the beginning of June.

Felix da Costa and Vandoorne were both investigated for not slowing down under yellow flags, but both escaped with written reprimands. Felix da Costa said on Twitter that it was DAMS who complained about their rival pair to the stewards.

Revised race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Antonio Felix da Costa Arden Caterham 25 laps in 47:12.900
2 Stoffel Vandoorne Fortec Motorsports 1.932
3 Andre Negrao International Draco Racing 4.570
4 Marco Sorensen Lotus 5.953
5 Will Stevens P1 by Strakka Racing 7.771
6 Arthur Pic AV Formula 24.180
7 Nikolay Martsenko Pons Racing 25.319
8 William Buller Zeta Corse 28.788
9 Daniil Move SMP Racing by Comtec 29.378
10 Nico Muller International Draco Racing 29.804
11 Pietro Fantin Arden Caterham 31.581
12 Zoel Amberg Pons Racing 32.044
13 Oliver Webb Fortec Motorsports 44.381
14 Jazeman Jaafar Carlin 52.340
15 Marlon Stockinger Lotus 1:04.304
16 Carlos Sainz, Jr. Zeta Corse +1 lap
17 Mikhail Aleshin Tech 1 Racing +1 lap
18 Norman Nato DAMS +1 lap
Not classified
Yann Cunha AV Formula +5 laps
Matias Laine P1 by Strakka Racing +5 laps
Nigel Melker Tech 1 Racing +20 laps
Carlos Huertas Carlin +20 laps
Christopher Zanella ISR +23 laps
Lucas Foresti SMP Racing by Comtec +25 laps
DSQ Kevin Magnussen DAMS