Home News Tan takes commanding victory in first Protyre FR race

Tan takes commanding victory in first Protyre FR race

by Gruz David
Weiron Tan

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Caterham-backed driver Weiron Tan continued on with his streak from the previous round of the series, where he won all three races, as he clinched his first race victory in the Protyre Formula Renault event at Rockingham.

The Malaysian started the race? from pole position, kept the lead off the line and, as the race went one, showed much better pace than the opposition, including second-placed Chris Middlehurst.

Middlehurst,who is now mere points away from clinching the title, had a trouble-free race behind Tan. Although Sam MacLeod was set to pick up third, he ended up retiring from the race, with Hong Wei Cao inheriting the podium place.

Jake Cook?took fourth, with Matias Galetto and Jorge Cevallos completing the top six. BRDC F4’s newfound race winner Pietro Fittipaldi took seventh, with series debutant Leo Yee picking up eighth place. The top ten was rounded out by Tom Oliphant from MGR and Matthew Rao from Hillspeed.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Weiron Tan Fortec Motorsport 16 laps
2 Chris Middlehurst MGR Motorsport +7.918
3 Hongwei Cao Fortec Motorsport +10.335
4 Jake Cook Hillspeed +12.347
5 Mat?as Galetto Mtech Lite +17.251
6 Jorge Cevallos MGR Motorsport +17.831
7 Pietro Fittipaldi Jamun Racing Services +23.299
8 Leo Yee Fortec Motorsport +23.913
9 Tom Oliphant MGR Motorsport +24.754
10 Matthew Rao Hillspeed +26.912
11 Wei Fung Thong Fortec Motorsport +27.389
12 Shahan Sarkissian Mtech Lite +38.098
13 Edward Brand Mtech Lite +42.984
14 Atte Lehtonen SWB Motorsport +43.807
15 Henrique Baptista Scorpio Motorsport +2 Laps
Not classified
Matteo Ferrer MGR Motorsport +7 Laps
Sam MacLeod Fortec Motorsport +12 Laps
Joe Ghanem Mtech Lite +14 Laps
Diego Menchaca Jamun Racing Services +16 Laps