Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Picariello beats Gunther to race two victory at Spielberg

Picariello beats Gunther to race two victory at Spielberg

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Alessio Picariello continued his dominance in the title fight of this year’s ADAC Formel Masters, further increasing his lead by winning the second race at Spielberg.

Again, Maximilian Gunther was the poleman, but the rookie driver did not manage to keep his teammate at bay for long, making a mistake into turn one five minutes in and letting Picariello through. From that point on, Gunther was always on Picariello’s heels, with the average gap between them remaining at about 0.4s, but the German never quite managed to find space for an overtake and had to settle for second.

Schiller Motorsport’s Jason Kremer took third after coming out on top in a fight with Neuhauser’s Nicolas Beer. The eventual overtake from Kremer was notably illegal as he used the runoff, but was preceded by Beer squeezing the German driver off-track, which saw the Dane receive a drive through penalty and seemingly allowed Kremer to walk away without a penalty.

Mikkel Jensen passed his teammate Indy Dontje on the final lap to take fourth, while another Lotus driver Beitske Visser kept Kim-Luis Schramm at bay to take sixth. Fabian Schiller finished in eighth ahead of the Neuhauser duo – with Stefan Riener leading Beer after the latter’s drive through.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alessio Picariello ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 16 laps in 26:12.433
2 Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +0.342
3 Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport +4.598
4 Mikkel Jensen Lotus +9.066
5 Indy Dontje Lotus +9.362
6 Beitske Visser Lotus +15.055
7 Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +15.165
8 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +19.343
9 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing +20.268
10 Nicolas Beer Neuhauser Racing +24.400
11 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport +30.858
12 Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing +31.568
13 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering +31.587
14 Kim Giersiepen KSW Motorsport +32.582
15 Hendrik Grapp ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +46.423
16 Zaid Ashkanani HS Engineering +46.732
17 Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +51.870
18 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering +1:17.954
Not classified
Callan O’Keeffe Lotus +10 laps
Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport +11 laps