Home News Tadasuke Makino ahead in Super Formula free practice at Okayama

Tadasuke Makino ahead in Super Formula free practice at Okayama

by Ida Wood

Photo: Super Formula

Tadasuke Makino was three tenths up on the rest of the field in Super Formula’s sole free practice session for its Okayama round.

B-MAX Racing by Motopark’s stand-in Mitsunori Takaboshi set the early pace, and was demoted from top spot by Team Mugen’s pre-event test pacesetter Tomoki Nojiri with half an hour left to go.

INGING’s Sho Tsuboi moved up to second place a few minutes later, and both were then surpassed by Makino while they were in the pits. Most of the grid went back to pitlane to make set-up changes at roughly the same time, meaning Makino’s time went unbeaten for some time.

He had actually made his own changes and returned to track when Team Impul’s Ryo Hirakawa beat his benchmark and became the first driver to break into the 1m12s.

This prompted a second trip to the pits for Makino to make further changes, although he was doing so less frequently than everyone else, and he put in a rapid 1m12.479s lap with two minutes to go to reclaim top spot.

One minute later the improvements from everyone else started to come, shaking up the order behind Makino.

A personal best first sector enabled Yuki Sekiguchi to beat his team-mate Hirakawa to second place, while a strong final sector from Makino’s team-mate Toshiki Oyu brought him up to third place before Sekiguchi set his lap and TOM’s duo Ritomo Miyata and Nick Cassidy put in their final efforts to make the top five.

The top 14 cars were covered by less than a second, with two-time champion Naoki Yamamoto (Dandelion Racing) continuing his test struggles down in 16th.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Tadasuke Makino Nakajima Racing 1m12.479s 14
2 Yuhi Sekiguchi Team Impul 1m12.780s +0.301s 23
3 Ryo Hirakawa Team Impul 1m12.850s +0.371s 20
4 Ritomo Miyata TOM’S 1m12.895s +0.416s 24
5 Nick Cassidy TOM’S 1m12.998s +0.519s 22
6 Toshiki Oyu Nakajima Racing 1m13.003s +0.524s 21
7 Sacha Fenestraz Kondo Racing 1m13.024s +0.545s 26
8 Nirei Fukuzumi Dandelion Racing 1m13.065s +0.586s 17
9 Tomiki Nojiri Team Mugen 1m13.068s +0.589s 17
10 Sho Tsuboi INGING 1m13.162s +0.683s 17
11 Mitsunori Takaboshi B-MAX Racing w/ Motopark 1m13.258s +0.779s 21
12 Yuichi Nakayama KCMG 1m13.326s +0.847s 21
13 Yuji Kunimoto KCMG 1m13.433s +0.954s 25
14 Hiroaki Ishiura INGING 1m13.446s +0.967s 19
15 Sena Sakaguchi Kondo Racing 1m13.502s +1.023s 25
16 Naoki Yamamoto Dandelion Racing 1m13.577s +1.098s 21
17 Ukyo Sasahara Team Mugen 1m13.623s +1.144s 20
18 Kazuya Oshima ROOKIE Racing 1m13.895s +1.416s 11
19 Koudai Tsukakoshi ThreeBond w/ Drago Corse 1m14.446s +1.967s 22