Home Formula 4Italian F4 Sztuka fastest, title rival Lindblad 14th in test before Italian F4 finale

Sztuka fastest, title rival Lindblad 14th in test before Italian F4 finale

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Italian Formula 4 points leader Kacper Sztuka topped the times in testing at Vallelunga ahead of the title-deciding round at the track.

Drivers were given four hours of running on Thursday afternoon in very warm conditions, and R-ace GP’s Raphael Narac was the pacesetter through the first 10 minutes.

His 1m35.816s benchmark was briefly bettered by team-mate Matteo Quintarelli, with Narac moving back to the top with a 1m35.405s laptime.

A few minutes later US Racing’s Akshay Bohra set a 1m35.350s, then Prema’s Arvid Lindblad posted a 1m35.240s. He was only on top for less than half a minute as Van Amersfoort Racing’s Brando Badoer then went 0.274 seconds faster than him and became the first driver into the 1m34s.

Zachary David put US Racing back on top by going just 0.014s faster than Badoer, then Sztuka set two successive improvements to bring the pace down to 1m34.867s.

Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu beat that by 0.028s, but Sztuka’s next lap put him back ahead by 0.057s and the lap after was an improvement of another 0.032s.

After a gap of 10 minutes there was another change at the top as Badoer went 0.459s faster than anyone else, and Sztuka was unable to match that pace until nine minutes after that when he set a 1m34.242s.

Two further improvements kept Sztuka on top for two hours-and-42 minutes before David set a 1m34.135s with 33 minutes left of the session to go.

Prior to that he had been fifth fastest, with Badoer, Prema’s Alex Powell and Ugochukwu filling the top four behind Sztuka.

Once Sztuka was usurpsed, he wasted little time in returning to the top. Two successive improvements from lowered the pace to 1m34.040s, then with five minutes to go he headed back out and improved two more times to get into the 1m33s.

He ended up being the only driver able to achieve that feat, a 1m33.920s putting him 0.191s ahead of Ugochukwu. Badoer, David and Powell were his next closest rivals, and VAR’s Matheus Ferreira was sixth fastest.

After making his car racing debut in the previous round at Mugello, Powell will have a second go at F4 this weekend.

French F4 racer Tom Kalender is on the entry list with PHM Racing, Australian karter Kamal Mrad will race for AKM Motorsport after making his single-eater debut with them in Euro 4, and Jenzer Motorsport is handing Chinese karter Shimo Zhang his first taste of car racing.

Pre-event test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m33.920s 61
2 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m34.111s +0.191s 60
3 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.112s +0.192s 57
4 Zachary David US Racing 1m34.124s +0.204s 59
5 Alex Powell Prema 1m34.219s +0.299s 63
6 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.256s +0.336s 58
7 Tuukka Taponen Prema 1m34.304s +0.384s 61
8 Akshay Bohra US Racing 1m34.313s +0.393s 55
9 Freddie Slater Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.372s +0.452s 58
10 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing 1m34.390s +0.470s 62
11 James Wharton Prema 1m34.443s +0.523s 61
12 Ariel Elkin Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.460s +0.540s 54
13 Raphael Narac R-ace GP 1m34.495s +0.575s 76
14 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m34.496s +0.576s 60
15 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.523s +0.603s 62
16 Niko Lacorte Prema 1m34.605s +0.685s 62
17 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m34.645s +0.725s 64
18 Davide Larini PHM Racing 1m34.716s +0.796s 58
19 Matteo Quintarelli R-ace GP 1m34.765s +0.845s 55
20 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.849s +0.929s 52
21 Ruiqi Liu US Racing 1m34.905s +0.985s 56
22 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m34.920s +1.000s 64
23 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport 1m34.956s +1.036s 55
24 Shimo Zhang Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.963s +1.043s 60
25 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m34.985s +1.065s 45
26 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 1m35.001s +1.081s 62
27 Giacomo Pedrini PHM Racing 1m35.005s +1.085s 70
28 Kabir Anurag US Racing 1m35.057s +1.137s 54
29 Finn Wiebelhaus Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.091s +1.171s 46
30 Mrad Kamal AKM Motorport 1m35.313s +1.393s 56
31 Aurelia Nobels Prema 1m35.377s +1.457s 60
32 Tom Kalender PHM Racing 1m35.694s +1.774s 57
33 Guido Luchetti Airflow Racing 1m35.853s +1.933s 60
34 Diego de la Torre AKM Motorsport 1m36.125s +2.205s 56