Home News Sundaramoorthy sails to another USF2000 win at Indianapolis

Sundaramoorthy sails to another USF2000 win at Indianapolis

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Pabst Racing’s Yuven Sundaramoorthy closed on the USF2000 points lead with a second straight win at Indianapolis.

Sundaramoorthy’s second-fastest lap in qualifying earned him pole for race two of the weekend, and he led fairly comfortably through the race as team-mate Josh Pierson fought past Exclusive Autosport’s points leader Christian Brooks for second place on the opening lap.

DEForce Racing’s Kiko Porto charged from sixth on the grid to also pass Brooks early on, and the American later lost another spot to Cape Motorsport’s Michael d’Orlando as the Pabst drivers raced off ahead.

“For both races, all I kept saying to myself for the last few laps was ‘don’t throw it away!’” said Sundaramoorthy.

“It’s hard being out in front like that – when I’m leading, I’m more nervous. When I’m second, I have someone to chase and I’m focusing forward. When you’re leading, you have to know how much to push without going over the edge.”

There wasn’t too much action in the midfield besides a few drivers who charged up the order, with Jay Howard Driver Development’s Peter Vodanovich rising from 24th on the grid to finish 15th.

Brooks’ team-mate Matt Round-Garrido saw his title hopes diminish further as he finished 12th, and is now 11th in the standings.

Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 21m33.0597s
2 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing +1.1929s
3 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +2.2759s
4 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +4.2672s
5 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport +5.5579s
6 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport +6.4454s
7 Spike Kohlbecker Cape w/ Ignite Autosport +7.0585s
8 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports +9.3251s
9 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing +11.6116s
10 Myles Rowe Force Indy +12.0308s
11 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport +13.4436s
12 Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport +14.5266s
13 Erik Evans Velocity Racing Development +18.1573s
14 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport +19.4808s
15 Peter Vodanovich JHDD +22.6776s
16 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport +23.1890s
17 Grant Palmer Exclusive Autosport +24.2629s
18 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing +24.4611s
19 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +28.1839s
20 Jace Denmark-Gessel Pabst Racing +47.3762s
21 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports +48.3236s
22 Bijoy Garg JHDD +2 laps
23 Evan Stamer Cape w/ Ignite Autosport +2 laps
Ret Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing
DNS Michael Myers Michael Myers Racing
DNS Jackson Lee JHDD
Fastest lap: Sundaramoorthy, 1m25.5366s

Championship standings
1 Brooks 138   2 Sundaramoorthy 130   3 Pierson 113   Porto 110   5 d’Orlando 98   6 Campbell 86   7 Kohlbecker 83   8 Green 78   9 Nepveu 70   10 Frazer 65