Home Formula 3Euroformula Stuvik takes dominant win in second Euroformula Open race

Stuvik takes dominant win in second Euroformula Open race

by Gruz David
Sandy Stuvik

Photo: Fotospeedy

After finishing second in the first race, Thai racer Sandy Stuvik completed a nearly perfect opening Euroformula Open weekend by winning race two at the Nurburgring.

It all started with drama for Yu Kanamaru, who stalled on the second spot of the grid and lost several positions. However, Kanamaru’s teammate, Igor Urien took the lead after a phenomenal getaway, starting from tenth. The Spaniard’s lead did not last long though, as both Stuvik and Alex Palou passed him in the first lap.

As the race went on, Stuvik seemed untouchable and his lead was also helped by the fact his two nearest challengers hit trouble, with Palou retiring and Urien having to serve a drive-through penalty for jumping the start.

Eventually Stuvik finished the race with a ten seconds lead over his teammate Artur Janosz. Cameron Twynham secured third, closely followed by Tanart Sathienthirakul, who put big pressure on the Briton in the last couple of laps.

The following positions were decided by lots of action among several drivers. Finally, it was Che One Lim, Damiano Fioravanti and Konstantin Tereshchenko who finished fifth, sixth and seventh, all of them recording their best results in the championship.

The rest of the top ten was completed by Andres Saravia, Nicolas Pohler and Wei Fung Thong.


Pos. Name Team Time/Gap
1 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport 16 laps in 30:23.066
2 Artur Janosz RP Motorsport +10.306
3 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +15.760
4 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec +16.021
5 Che One Lim EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +18.589
6 Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +28.244
7 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing +28.494
8 Andres Saravia RP Motorsport +28.790
9 Nicolas Pohler Team West-Tec +30.287
10 Wei Fung Thong Team West-Tec +31.137
11 Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing +33.315
12 Igor Urien EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +33.765
13 Henrique Baptista DAV Racing +40.156
14 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +1:11.467
15 Costantino Peroni RP Motorsport +1:17.779
16 Yu Kanamaru EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +1 lap
17 Tommaso Menchini DAV Racing +3 laps
18 Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport +3 laps
Not classified
Alex Palou Campos Racing +7 laps
William Barbosa Corbetta Competizioni +7 laps
Yarin Stern Team West-Tec +8 laps