Home Formula 3Euroformula Stuvik grabs Euroformula Open Winter Series pole at Paul Ricard

Stuvik grabs Euroformula Open Winter Series pole at Paul Ricard

by Gruz David


2013 F3 Open runner-up Sandy Stuvik claimed pole position for the first race of the Euroformula Open Winter Series round at Paul Ricard.

The Thai racer excelled on his return to the series, going 0.15s quicker than Spanish karting graduate Alex Palou, who will start his maiden race in single-seaters from the front row. Losing out to Palou by only 0.01s, former Copa class champion Kevin Giovesi secured third.

Giovesi will share the second row with Cameron Twynham, who himself graduates from the F3 Open Copa class after finishing runner-up last year. EmiliodeVillota’s duo Tatiana Calderon and Yu Kanamaru will start from fifth and sixth respectively, while Israeli driver Yarin Stern was only seventh fastest after being on top in today’s practices sessions earlier on.

Another close battle between Artur Janosz and Christopher Hoher saw the Polish driver take eighth by only one hundredth of a second, as Che One Lim completed the top ten.

Macanese driver Wei Fung Thong grabbed pole in the Copa class, closely followed by Italian karting graduate Costantino Peroni.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Class Time Gap
1 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport A 2:00.750
2 Alex Palou Campos Racing A 2:00.901 0.151
3 Kevin Giovesi DAV Racing A 2:00.911 0.161
4 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec A 2:01.060 0.310
5 Tatiana Calderon EmiliodeVillota Motorsport A 2:01.271 0.521
6 Yu Kanamaru EmiliodeVillota Motorsport A 2:01.316 0.566
7 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec A 2:01.390 0.640
8 Artur Janosz RP Motorsport A 2:01.783 1.033
9 Christopher Hoher Team West-Tec A 2:01.792 1.042
10 Che One Lim EmiliodeVillota Motorsport A 2:01.920 1.172
11 Nicolas Pohler Team West-Tec A 2:02.278 1.528
12 Hector Hurst DAV Racing A 2:02.289 1.539
13 Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing A 2:02.561 1.811
14 Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport A 2:02.947 2.197
15 Henrique Baptista DAV Racing A 2:03.700 2.950
16 Wei Fung Thong Team West-Tec C 2:04.190 3.440
17 Constantino Peroni RP Motorsport C 2:04.409 3.659
18 Chang Wing Chung Team West-Tec C 2:05.789 5.039
19 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport C 2:06.503 5.753