Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Stoneman dominates session to achieve maiden pole in GP3

Stoneman dominates session to achieve maiden pole in GP3

by Gruz David
Photo: GP3 Series

Photo: GP3 Series

Koiranen GP’s Dean Stoneman was in a class of his own in the GP3 qualifying session at Sochi.

The Briton recorded his flying lap in the closing stages of the session, stealing the lead from Alex Fontana by almost half a second.

The Swiss driver, who had to settle for second, will be at the head of an impressive ART 2-3-4 trio on the grid. Marvin Kirchhofer will start third, losing out to Fontana by only four thousandths of a second, while Dino Zamparelli will complete the top four.

Jimmy Eriksson had a worrying first half of a session as he sat down the order in 23rd yet the Swede managed to recover and will start from fifth place.

He had been followed by Richie Stanaway, but the Kiwi was not able to stop for the official weight check and will thus start from the pitlane, letting Kevin Ceccon through into sixth on the grid.

Championship leader Alex Lynn had a similarly hectic session, running wide on his flying lap in the early minutes. He was then seemingly set to dethrone Stoneman in the final seconds of the session with a purple first sector, only to lose his shot at pole because of a lock-up later in the lap. As a result, he will only start seventh.

The top ten of the grid will be completed by Arden’s Patric Niederhauser, Carlin’s Emil Bernstorff and Status GP’s Nick Yelloly.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dean Stoneman Koiranen GP 1:51.715 11
2 Alex Fontana ART GP 1:52.204 0.489 13
3 Marvin Kirchhofer ART GP 1:52.208 0.493 12
4 Dino Zamparelli ART GP 1:52.288 0.573 12
5 Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP 1:52.388 0.673 12
6 Kevin Ceccon Jenzer Motorsport 1:52.499 0.784 13
7 Alex Lynn Carlin 1:52.506 0.791 12
8 Patric Niederhauser Arden International 1:52.527 0.812 14
9 Emil Bernstorff Carlin 1:52.537 0.822 14
10 Nick Yelloly Status GP 1:52.607 0.892 12
11 Jann Mardenborough Arden International 1:52.906 1.191 13
12 Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport 1:52.981 1.266 14
13 Robert Visoiu Arden International 1:53.019 1.304 15
14 Riccardo Agostini Hilmer Motorsport 1:53.151 1.436 14
15 Mitch Gilbert Trident 1:53.190 1.475 12
16 Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport 1:53.193 1.478 15
17 Patrick Kujala Trident 1:53.386 1.671 13
18 Alfonso Celis Jr Status GP 1:53.693 1.978 14
19 Luis Sa Silva Carlin 1:53.742 2.027 14
20 Santiago Urrutia Koiranen GP 1:53.744 2.029 14
21 Nelson Mason Hilmer Motorsport 1:54.191 2.476 14
22 Nikolay Martsenko Hilmer Motorsport 1:54.700 2.985 14
EX Richie Stanaway* Status GP 1:52.476 0.761 13

* – Richie Stanaway qualified sixth but will start from the pitlane due to a penalty.