Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Stenshorne takes FREC win and points lead after Antonelli off

Stenshorne takes FREC win and points lead after Antonelli off

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

R-ace GP’s Martinius Stenshorne won the first Formula Regional European Championship race at the Hungaroring after a brief battle with Andrea Kimi Antonelli.

Stenshorne started from pole alongside Santiago Ramos, with Antonelli and Kas Haverkort on row two, but a slow second phase of the launch procedure meant Antonelli drew alongside on the long run down to turn one.

Antonelli had the outside line and could not covert it into the lead, but then had the inside for the turn two left-hander and moved ahead.

On lap two there was a clash at the very back between Sainteloc Racing’s Lucas Medina and Trident’s Nikhil Bohra at turn one, with Medina’s car stopping on track and meaning the safety car was out until the end of lap three.

Antonelli and Stenshorne got the jump on the rest of the field on the restart, while there was another incident as ART Grand Prix’s Laurens van Hoepen made contact with team-mate Marcus Amand who spun down to 32nd place.

The gap between the top two grew to 1.1 seconds on lap seven before Antonelli went off exiting turn one and was overtaken by Stenshorne, Ramos and Haverkort before he rejoined the track. Michael Belov then got past too, and Stenshorne made use of the clean air up front to set the fastest lap.

Ramos was the quickest of the top five over the next laps but could not get close to Stenshorne. Getting close was no guarantee of making a pass either, with the first official overtake in the top 20 coming on lap 10 when Rafael Camara passed Tim Tramnitz for seventh.

Sami Meguetounif passed Esteban Masson for 13th on lap 12, and then Victor Bernier moved ahead of Roman Bilinski for 11th on lap 14.

Stenshorne worked to put several seconds between himself and second place, which belonged to Haverkot by lap 13 as Ramos started to lose pace.

He spent much of the rest of the 19-lap race resisting Belov, while sliding a lot on his tyres, and dropped almost eight seconds to Haverkort in the proccess. Although Haverkort also had a few laps of closing in on Stenshorne, he still finished 1.827s behind the winner.

Antonelli sat in the queue behind Ramos and finished fifth, with the only other overtake in the top 20 being completed by Bernier to take 10th from Maceo Capietto.

Race results (19 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Martinus Stenshorne R-ace GP 33m16.259s
2 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +1.827s
3 Santiago Ramos R-P-M +9.562s
4 Michael Belov G4 Racing +10.039s
5 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +10.680s
6 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +11.128s
7 Rafael Camara Prema +11.713s
8 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP +12.280s
9 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema +14.092s
10 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport +16.673s
11 Maceo Capietto R-P-M +17.645s
12 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +18.862s
13 Roman Bilinski Trident +22.953s
14 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +23.500s
15 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing +24.245s
16 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing +24.694s
17 Levente Revesz Arden +26.330s
18 Owen Tangavelou Trident +28.915s
19 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport +29.536s
20 Joshua Duerksen Arden +30.100s
21 Adam Fitzgerald R-P-M +31.969s
22 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP +32.516s
23 Charlie Wurz ART Grand Prix +33.063s
24 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport +33.637s
25 Alex Partyshev KIC Motorsport +34.163s
26 Tom Lebbon Arden +34.749s
27 Kirill Smal Monolite Racing +37.634s
28 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing +41.260s
29 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing +42.655s
30 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix +46.703s
31 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing +48.838s
32 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing +59.747s
Ret Nikhil Bohra Trident
Ret Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing
Fastest lap: Ramos, 1m40.732s

Championship standings
1 Stenshorne 74   2 Haverkort 68   3 Antonelli 64   4 Tramnitz 62   5 Ramos 35   6 Dufek 30   7 Camara 29   8 Fluxa 26   9 Bohra 21   10 Capietto 18