Home Formula 3Euroformula Spanish F4 runner-up Ogaard becomes Euroformula race-winner

Spanish F4 runner-up Ogaard becomes Euroformula race-winner

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Fotospeedy

Sebastian Ogaard took a lights-to-flag victory for Van Amersfoort Racing in the final Euroformula race of the weekend at Estoril.

The Danish rookie, who came second in Spanish Formula 4 last year, led away from pole and resisted an early challenge from Frederick Lubin before coming home 0.182 seconds clear of the Motopark driver. 

Lubin tried to take the lead at the start of the second lap but, on the outside line through turns one and two, eventually had to concede. 

CryptoTower Racing Team’s Christian Mansell made another strong start to take third away from his team-mate Vladislav Lomko, and race two winner Oliver Goethe made amends for poor getaways in the first two races by passing Josh Mason for fifth.

Motopark’s Goethe was soon past Lomko into fourth, with the top six drivers running nose-to-tail in the first half of the 20-lap contest.

Ogaard and Lubin eventually pulled over two seconds clear as Mansell fended off a challenge from Goethe behind to finish third.

Despite missing out on a podium spot, Goethe ended the first round with a three-point lead over his countryman Ogaard.

Lomko came home fifth, while VAR’s Nicola Marinangeli passed Mason for sixth in the closing stages.

Mason also lost a further place to Marinangeli’s team-mate Filip Ugran, who recovered from an early error to finish seventh. 

BVM Racing’s Francesco Simonazzi was ninth ahead of Drivex School’s Alex Peroni.

Race result (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Sebastian Ogaard Van Amersfoort Racing 30m08.831s
2 Frederick Lubin Motopark +0.182s
3 Christian Mansell CryptoTower +2.657s
4 Oliver Goethe Motopark +3.038s
5 Vlad Lomko CryptoTower +3.552s
6 Nicola Marinangeli Van Amersfoort Racing +4.174s
7 Filip Ugran Van Amersfoort Racing +5.646s
8 Josh Mason CryptoTower +7.987s
9 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing +9.927s
10 Alex Peroni Drivex School +15.622s
11 Nico Pino Drivex School +16.118s
12 Alex Garcia Motopark +25.724s
Fastest lap: Ugran, 1m29.425s

Championship standings
1 Goethe 55   2 Ogaard 52   3 Lubin 46   4 Mansell 44   5 Lomko 28   6 Peroni 23   7 Mason 20   8 Ugran 15   9 Marinangeli 14   10 Simonazzi 12