Home Formula 4French F4 Sorensen wins race three at Jerez, becomes French F4 champion

Sorensen wins race three at Jerez, becomes French F4 champion

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Auto Sport Academy

Photo: Auto Sport Academy

Danish driver Lasse Sorensen sealed the 2014 French F4 drivers’ title with a victory in the third race of the penultimate round at Jerez.

Sorensen took his seventh victory of the campaign, having previously managed hat-tricks in rounds at Val de Vienne and Nogaro.

The Dane started from the front row and kept second behind poleman Joseph Mawson over the opening lap.

Slowly but surely, Sorensen then closed in on Mawson with every lap and passed the Aussie for the lead at the halfway point of the race.

He then stormed off into the distance, eventually winning the race by three and a half seconds.

Mawson held on to second, narrowly keeping Valentin Moineault at bay, with the Frenchman picking up his third podium of the season.

Niclas Nylund took fourth, overtaking Patricio O’Ward on the final lap, with race two winner Gjergj Haxhiu finishing behind them in sixth.

Bryan Elpitiya overtook Paul Hokfelt for seventh, as Vladimir Atoev and David Droux made up the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Name Time/Gap
1 Lasse Sorensen 12 laps in 22:36.532
2 Joseph Mawson +3.526
3 Valentin Moineault +3.640
4 Niclas Nylund +11.098
5 Patricio O’Ward +12.078
6 Gjergj Haxhiu +12.136
7 Bryan Elpitiya +13.850
8 Paul Hokfelt +15.001
9 Vladimir Atoev +16.100
10 David Droux +16.150
11 Reuben Kressner +16.316
12 Denis Bulatov +19.762
13 Felix Hirsiger +19.917
14 Valentin Hasse-Clot +21.748
15 Axel Matus +21.869
16 Simo Laaksonen +22.680
17 Amaury Richard +27.925
18 Joao Carvalho +31.613
19 Anouck Abadie +1:30.051
20 Dorian Boccolacci +1 lap
Not classified
Hugo Sugnot-Darniche +9 laps