Home Featured Smolyar sets Red Bull Ring track record on first afternoon of FIA F3 test

Smolyar sets Red Bull Ring track record on first afternoon of FIA F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

ART Grand Prix returnee Alexander Smolyar ended the first day of FIA Formula 3 Championship pre-season testing on top with a new track record at the Red Bull Ring.

The Russian set his day-topiing lap with 19 minutes to go of the three-hour afternoon session, becoming the first ever driver to lap the Austrian circuit at a sub-1m19s pace in the Dallara F3 2019 car.

While he was 0.142 seconds clear of the next fastest driver, Carlin’s Jonny Edgar, the top 23 drivers were all within a second of each other on pace in the afternoon.

Edgar went out very early for his first flying laps and quickly set a 1m19.790s that put him just ahead of MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet until the Alpine Formula 1 junior improved next time by.

First place went back to Red Bull junior Edgar, before Alpine reclaimed top spot with Collet’s MP team-mate Victor Martins.

However Martins, along with Prema’s Olli Caldwell and Trident’s David Schumacher to name just two, was one of several whose fastest laps were deleted for track limits offences and the Frenchman ended the session down in 29th, only ahead of Campos Racing’s Laszlo Toth who caused a mid-session red flag stoppage when his car came to a halt before turn four.

At the end of the first hour, Prema’s Dennis Hauger went fastest with a 1m19.110s but he was unable to improve on that and was shuffled down to fifth as Mercedes-AMG junior Frederik Vesti (ART) and Red Bull junior Jak Crawford (Hitech GP) made gains late on.

Hitech’s Roman Stanek rose to sixth towards the end too, ahead of Charouz’s test-only entry and 2020 title contender Logan Sargeant.

Jack Doohan ended up being the top Trident driver in eighth, after the team topped the morning session with Clement Novalak, and HWA’s Matteo Nannini demoted Collet to 10th with one of his late laps.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m18.894s 50
2 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m19.036s +0.142s 45
3 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m19.056s +0.162s 54
4 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m19.085s +0.191s 55
5 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m19.110s +0.216s 39
6 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m19.197s +0.303s 52
7 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m19.198s +0.304s 44
8 Jack Doohan Trident 1m19.238s +0.344s 52
9 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m19.288s +0.394s 64
10 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m19.292s +0.398s 52
11 Clement Novalak Trident 1m19.309s +0.415s 53
12 Mikhael Belov Charouz Racing System 1m19.406s +0.512s 37
13 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m19.422s +0.528s 42
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m19.456s +0.562s 48
15 David Schumacher ART Grand Prix 1m19.467s +0.573s 53
16 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m19.491s +0.597s 41
17 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m19.509s +0.615s 41
18 Oliver Rasmussen Carlin 1m19.515s +0.621s 35
19 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m19.565s +0.671s 47
20 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m19.642s +0.748s 54
21 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1m19.711s +0.817s 52
22 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m19.740s +0.846s 36
23 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m19.761s +0.867s 46
24 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m19.933s +1.039s 38
25 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m19.942s +1.048s 55
26 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m20.149s +1.255s 49
27 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m20.158s +1.264s 43
28 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m20.408s +1.514s 45
29 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m20.437s +1.543s 52
30 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m21.198s +2.304s 29