Home Featured Smolyar leads long run-focused afternoon for F3 drivers at Barcelona

Smolyar leads long run-focused afternoon for F3 drivers at Barcelona

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

MP Motorsport’s Alexander Smolyar topped the afternoon of day one of FIA Formula 3’s in-season Barcelona test, as teams focused on long runs.

There was lots of action in the early stages of the afternoon session as several drivers kicked off long runs. Meanwhile others, including Prema and Jenzer Motorsport’s line-ups, drove through pitlane to carry out practice starts at the pit exit.

ART Grand Prix’s Matteo Nannini couldn’t take the track until the second half of the session, as his engine had to be replaced after stopping on track in the morning session. A similar fate hit Hech GP’s Isack Hadjar, who left the pits over an hour into the session. The Red Bull junior had caused the morning’s first red flag as he came to a halt at turn three.

Halfway through the afternoon, Hadjar went fastest, but was bettered 15 minutes later by Smolyar and MP team-mate Caio Collet, with the former sitting ahead of the latter.

Smolyar’s best lap 1.095 seconds slower than the morning benchmark set by ART GP’s Gregoire Saucy. Van Amersfoort Racing’s Franco Colapinto was the driver with the most laps completed (54), followed by his team-mate Rafael Villagomez and Hitech’s Nazim Azman (50).

The afternoon ran under green flag conditions throughout, and when it finished drivers were allowed to make a practice start from the grid.

Afternoon session
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m33.342s 38
2 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m33.639s +0.297s 34
3 Roman Stanek Trident 1m33.642s +0.300s 38
4 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m33.918s +0.576s 27
5 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m33.995s +0.653s 38
6 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m34.050s +0.708s 40
7 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m34.067s +0.725s 28
8 Jak Crawford Prema 1m34.188s +0.846s 27
9 Oliver Rasmussen Trident 1m34.276s +0.934s 37
10 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m34.314s +0.972s 28
11 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m34.375s +1.033s 39
12 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m34.389s +1.047s 30
13 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m34.508s +1.166s 46
14 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m34.527s +1.185s 44
15 Matteo Nannini ART Grand Prix 1m34.581s +1.239s 27
16 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.581s +1.239s 51
17 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m34.605s +1.263s 30
18 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m34.649s +1.307s 29
19 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m34.671s +1.329s 39
20 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.761s +1.419s 38
21 Zane Maloney Trident 1m34.786s +1.444s 47
22 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.807s +1.465s 41
23 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m34.898s +1.556s 30
24 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m34.928s +1.586s 33
25 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m35.259s +1.917s 36
26 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.343s +2.001s 40
27 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.537s +2.195s 48
28 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m35.884s +2.542s 40
29 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m35.888s +2.546s 50
30 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.623s +3.281s 54