Home Formula 3GB3 Browning tops Friday at Oulton in GB3, Walker quickest in GB4

Browning tops Friday at Oulton in GB3, Walker quickest in GB4

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Luke Browning was fastest on the second day of pre-event testing for this weekend’s GB3 season opener at Oulton Park.

Browning both of Friday’s sessions ahead of Fortec Motorsports’ Joel Granfors, whose Thursday benchmark was bettered by 0.128 seconds during the morning.

Carlin’s Callum Voisin led the way until 15 minutes remained of GB3’s first session of the day, as Granfors bettered him with a 1m28.758s lap. But Browning then put in a 1m28.601s with seven minutes to go. Carlin’s Roberto Faria was third, ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing’s McKenzy Cresswell and Voisin.

Most of the field did not improve in the afternoon session, which was interrupted by a red flag due caused by an off for JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees.

Browning was fastest with a 1m29.583s before the stoppage, and there was a flurry of activity when action resumed with 10 minutes remaining. Granfors edged Browning’s best from the second morning session by 0.014s, before Faria went fastest with a 1m29.460s. 

Granfors responded to go fastest again, before Browning posted a 1m29.255s. Behind Faria were team-mates Voisin and Javier Sagrera.

Rees’ session one time was good enough to place him sixth overall, with the top 15 drivers separated by less than a second. Hillspeed’s Nick Gilkes was the only driver to improve in the afternoon, but remained in 20th. Mikkel Grundtvig only registered laptimes in session two and was 21st overall.

Elite Motorsport’s Alex Walker was fastest in GB4’s testing, beating Fortec driver Nikolas Taylor’s Thursday benchmark.

Walker and team-mate Jack Sherwood exchanged the fastest lap early in the morning session, before Taylor went fastest approaching the halfway stage. His team-mate Elias Edestam then went almost 0.5s quicker inside the final 10 minutes, but Taylor snatched back first place at the chequered flag.

Jarrod Waberski led the way for Kevin Mills Racing at the 15-minute mark of the session two. Walker set a 1m35.920s inside the final 10 minutes, and improved further to go quickest by 0.8s from Adestam.

Taylor was the only driver to not improve in the afternoon, but ended up second overall, 0.689s adrift of Walker. Edestam was third ahead of Waberski and Sherwood, the trio within one second of the day’s pace.

Graham Brunton Racing took part on Friday, with a third driver running alongside Logan Hannah and Chloe Grant in the morning, but all three did not record their laptimes. Hannah was ninth fastest in the afternoon.

Test Results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m28.601s 34
2 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 1m28.758s +0.157s 30
3 Roberto Faria Carlin 1m28.855s +0.254s 33
4 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing 1m29.010s +0.409s 26
5 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m29.042s +0.441s 33
6 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m29.147s +0.546s 23
7 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport 1m29.310s +0.709s 32
8 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport 1m29.320s +0.719s 31
9 Javier Sagrera Carlin 1m29.343s +0.742s 33
10 John Bennett Elite Motorsport 1m29.365s +0.764s 34
11 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport 1m29.372s +0.771s 30
12 James Hedley Elite Motorsport 1m29.425s +0.824s 34
13 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing 1m29.499s +0.898s 34
14 Bryce Aron Hitech GP 1m29.520s +0.919s 34
15 Zak Taylor Fortec Motorsports 1m29.562s +0.961s 34
16 Alex Connor Arden Motorsport 1m29.721s +1.120s 29
17 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m29.810s +1.209s 33
18 David Morales Arden Motorsport 1m30.023s +1.422s 31
19 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport 1m30.325s +1.724s 33
20 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed 1m30.797s +2.196s 33
21 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports 1m30.939s +2.338s 16
1 Alex Walker Elite Motorsport 1m35.270s 25
2 Nikolas Taylor Fortec Motorsports 1m35.959s +0.689s 37
3 Elias Adestam Fortec Motorsports 1m36.105s +0.835s 37
4 Jarrod Waberski Kevin Mills Racing 1m36.248s +0.978s 33
5 Jack Sherwood Elite Motorsport 1m36.252s +0.982s 36
6 Max Marzorati Hillspeed 1m36.324s +1.054s 40
7 Megan Gilkes Hillspeed 1m36.453s +1.183s 39
8 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing 1m37.067s +1.797s 27
9 Jess Edgar Fortec Motorsports 1m37.183s +1.913s 39
10 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing 1m38.426s +3.156s >20
11 Chloe Grant Graham Brunton Racing 1m40.905s +5.635s >20