Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Six new drivers in FMCS entry list for Sepang

Six new drivers in FMCS entry list for Sepang

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: Formula Masters China Series

Photo: Formula Masters China Series

The Formula Masters China series have announced their official lineup for the first round at Sepang.

The entry list features six new names, taking the total grid size to 17 drivers.

2013 champions Meritus GP have recruited Thai driver Worawong Komarakul. The 18-year-old has a strong karting?r?sum?, with title-winning campaigns in the National Karting Championship 2011 and the Rotax Max Senior Thailand in 2014.

Komarakul also made his step up to single-seaters last year, racing in the Meritus-run Formula BMW AsiaCup series, where he finished third overall behind Jake Parsons and Michael Waldherr. He also topped the Rookie Classification for drivers with no prior single seater experience.

Eurasia Motorsport have expanded to six cars for the 2015 season, having acquired the two machines they supplied last season to the Humpuss Junior Racing Team, who have since left the series. With four drivers already confirmed, they have now signed on Japanese siblings Takeru and Asuka Muratomi, who were fourth and fifth in the AsiaCup series in 2014.

Japanese team Super License, headed by former F1 driver Ukyo Katayama, have announced the participation of local drivers Tomoki Takahashi and Takashi Hata. Takahashi, 17, raced in FMCS last year at Zhuhai, taking three points finishes with a best result of fourth, while teammate Hata had a best finish of tenth over two race weekends.

The final addition to the entry list is South African racer Matthew Swanepoel, who will be driving for new team Arrows Racing. The 20-year-old, who won the AsiaCup series in 2013, had a partial campaign with KCMG in FMCS last year, which included?pole position at the opening round at Zhuhai.

2015 Formula Masters China line-up so far
Team Driver
KCMG Zheng Shang Guan, Jeffrey Ye Junhui, Martin Rump, Nick Rowe
Eurasia Motorsport Aidan Read, Sean Hudspeth, Hua Miao, Kim Jeong Tae, Takeru Muratomi, Asuka Muratomi
Meritus GP Daniel Woodroof, Jake Parsons, Worawong Komarakul
Super License Tomoki Takahashi, Takashi Hata
Arrows Racing Matthew Swanepoel